Converting DDS to BMP

Thread: Converting DDS to BMP

Icon28 Converting DDS to BMP

I know this question has probably been asked a lot, but is there a freeware program for converting DDS textures to BMP textures ? If so where can I get it ? This is something I've never done before any tips if it can be done would be most helpful.
    T Square

The Load Toad

WEAPONS
    LOADER CREED
    We, the unwilling
    Led by the unknowing,
    Are doing the impossible,
    For the ungrateful.

DXTbmp from http://www.mwgfx.co.uk/ is generally regarded as the best all-around format converter. You can open a file, send the image to your favorite editor, then save it in any format used by any current FS title.
    Thermaltake H570 TG Tower
    X670 Aorus Elite AX motherboard
    AMD Ryzen 9 7900X 12-Core Processor
    NVIDIA GeForce RTX 3070
    NZXT Kraken X cooler
    32GB DDR5 RAM
    750 Watt PS
    Windows 11 Home

I fully agree with Tom. The program is simple reliable and free. The program offers the possibility to flip the image, including the alpha layer (required when you want to convert dds to bmp or the other way round) and to save it in any (extended) bitmap you want to use.

Cheers,
    Huub

Thanks Fellas that did the trick.
    T Square

The Load Toad

WEAPONS
    LOADER CREED
    We, the unwilling
    Led by the unknowing,
    Are doing the impossible,
    For the ungrateful.

Quote Originally Posted by Tom Clayton View Post
    DXTbmp from http://www.mwgfx.co.uk/ is generally regarded as the best all-around format converter. You can open a file, send the image to your favorite editor, then save it in any format used by any current FS title.
    I need to re-read the tute... I didn't know DXTbmp would convert .dds to .bmp and back. All these years I thought it would just modify the existing .bmp files into different resolutions and you could add, edit or remove alpha channels.... ....

BB686
    "El gato que camina como hombre" -- The cat that walks like a man