"The server is too busy......."
Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast
Results 1 to 25 of 37

Thread: "The server is too busy......."

  1. #1

    "The server is too busy......."

    There are times when I go to sign onto the SOH site, and the message is displayed that says "the server is too busy; try later", or something to that effect.. But lately, the frequency of this happening has increased considerably. Any info? NC

  2. #2
    SOH-CM-2021 MrZippy's Avatar
    Join Date
    Feb 2014
    Location
    Sam Clam's Disco, Calif.
    Age
    72
    Posts
    1,277
    I see it, too! Must be a busy day or maybe some site maintenance?
    Charlie Awaiting the new Microsoft Flight Sim and will eventually buy a new computer. Running a Chromebook for now!

  3. #3
    I've been seeing that more frequently in the last few weeks as well Chief.

  4. #4
    I saw it again yesterday morning.
    My computer:Win XP 32 Home SP3, Q9650 @ 3.6 GHz, 4GB DDR2-800 RAM @ 800 MHz, EVGA Nvidia 560Ti-SOC-1GB

  5. #5
    SOH-CM-2021 MrZippy's Avatar
    Join Date
    Feb 2014
    Location
    Sam Clam's Disco, Calif.
    Age
    72
    Posts
    1,277
    Happened 5 minutes ago!

    Click image for larger version. 

Name:	Screenshot 2021-01-23 at 12.03.49 PM.png 
Views:	344 
Size:	15.5 KB 
ID:	81065
    Charlie Awaiting the new Microsoft Flight Sim and will eventually buy a new computer. Running a Chromebook for now!

  6. #6
    It happens from time to time.
    I just logged in right now without any problem.
    "Illegitimum non carborundum".
    Commodore 64

  7. #7
    Yes it does happen every so often, but lately the frequency has increased greatly. NC

  8. #8
    SOH-CM-2021 WarHorse47's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jun 2005
    Location
    Great Pacific Northwest
    Age
    74
    Posts
    3,538
    Yep. Just happened to me five minutes ago, 6:05 pm Pacific Time on Sunday - only 8 members and 335 guests on line.

    Does anyone have an idea what is going on?
    -- WH

    If at first you don't succeed, try, try,try again. ... or go read the manual.

  9. #9
    We have staff members who would usually be able to look into this area MIA for some weeks.
    RL issues are impacting these people AFAIK.
    "Illegitimum non carborundum".
    Commodore 64

  10. #10
    Ii's funny you guys have all started whingeing about this now. We in Western Europe have had the dreaded message for years - usually in the early morning our time.
    It was always attributed to site maintenance, updates, etc., done at a time which inconvenienced the majority of users least.
    It appears that the timing of this might have changed, for whatever reason.
    Certainly I'm having no trouble this morning ! Posting at this hour used to be a no-no.

  11. #11
    Quote Originally Posted by lefty View Post
    Ii's funny you guys have all started whingeing about this now. We in Western Europe have had the dreaded message for years - usually in the early morning our time.
    It was always attributed to site maintenance, updates, etc., done at a time which inconvenienced the majority of users least.
    It appears that the timing of this might have changed, for whatever reason.
    Certainly I'm having no trouble this morning ! Posting at this hour used to be a no-no.
    Same here. It used to be quite impossible to access this website in the early hours, but I didn't face this issue for ages.

  12. #12
    SOH-CM-2021 WarHorse47's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jun 2005
    Location
    Great Pacific Northwest
    Age
    74
    Posts
    3,538
    Quote Originally Posted by lefty View Post
    Ii's funny you guys have all started whingeing about this now.
    Not really accurate. When I couldn't access this forum, I posted on the SOH Flight Center site. If you go there you'll see posts on this issue going back several years.
    -- WH

    If at first you don't succeed, try, try,try again. ... or go read the manual.

  13. #13
    It has happened to me three times today; most recently about a hour ago. NC

  14. #14
    Multiple times over the last few days I have been getting emails about high server loads. The culprit is mysql which is normal and 2 other process that I do not normally see as high.

    I am looking into it.

  15. #15
    Quote Originally Posted by Dangerousdave26 View Post
    Multiple times over the last few days I have been getting emails about high server loads. The culprit is mysql which is normal and 2 other process that I do not normally see as high.

    I am looking into it.
    Appreciate your looking into it Dave. Thanks. Pete

  16. #16
    cross your fingers

    I believe it was the same old problem of too many bots indexing the site. Over 400 in just a couple of IP Address ranges. I blocked them and have been monitoring it. So far it looks good.

    I also learned a few things about the server load message. I have to contemplate how I address it.

  17. #17
    We got through the night pretty good but this morning I am still seeing some spikes in server loads.

  18. #18
    Just piling on....I get these messages almost every day lately. (USA, Central states)

  19. #19
    Arizona here. I keep seeing it too. Thanks Dave, I know it's hard to keep up with.
    Sue

  20. #20
    South Yorkshire, UK, seven times today from approx 6.30am up to about 5 minutes ago.

  21. #21
    and yesterday and today, the download speed from the library is down to about a quarter of that on a typical day before this week - - that is, about 40KB/sec today compared to 160KB/sec normally.


  22. #22
    SOH-CM-2021 MrZippy's Avatar
    Join Date
    Feb 2014
    Location
    Sam Clam's Disco, Calif.
    Age
    72
    Posts
    1,277
    Quote Originally Posted by rohan View Post
    and yesterday and today, the download speed from the library is down to about a quarter of that on a typical day before this week - - that is, about 40KB/sec today compared to 160KB/sec normally.

    Yep, I noticed that, also, yesterday!
    Charlie Awaiting the new Microsoft Flight Sim and will eventually buy a new computer. Running a Chromebook for now!

  23. #23
    Yes that is by design to see if the total number of people downloading is causing the issue. Unfortunately there is no tool to tell me how many people are downloading.

    When NC posted this thread the loads were spiking every hour. When I blocked the known problem IP Addresses the loads spiked every 2 hours.

    The next change was to the download speeds which were trimmed across the board slightly. That did not really help we still had the same frequency. I then got draconian with the download speeds across the board just to see if that helped. That caused the spike frequency to go to every 3 hours.

    The next thing I did was run a maintenance tool in the that repairs and optimizes the forum database tables. I have had to run that tool a couple times to clear out posting issues. That change 6 hours until the next spike.

    I have some more testing to do this morning. After that we will adjust again. We are missing something that is the issue. I am not sure if all of these changes are fixing the issue or if they are just giving room for the issue to live on unnoticed.

    Either way the move to the new server is coming and we have preparations to do related to that project.

  24. #24
    I found another possible culprit which could have been additive to the problem. The AV Scanner was using 30% of the system memory. I booted it out the door to see if that helps the issue. I just did that so now the clock starts again to see how things are running.

    I will increase the server speeds if this turns out good.

  25. #25
    SOH-CM-2021 MrZippy's Avatar
    Join Date
    Feb 2014
    Location
    Sam Clam's Disco, Calif.
    Age
    72
    Posts
    1,277
    All good, so far!
    Charlie Awaiting the new Microsoft Flight Sim and will eventually buy a new computer. Running a Chromebook for now!

Members who have read this thread: 108

Bookmarks

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •