PDA

View Full Version : Repainting the Flight Replica Super Cub_Ultra

falcon409
December 9th, 2015, 04:04
I don't do repaints on native FSX aircraft, but I have a specific livery I want that hasn't been done and so I'm pressing on in an attempt to get it done. The problem I have run into with the paint kit is that when I go to convert the progress to a dds file I get a message saying "alpha is all zero, formats with alpha will appear black in preview". . .and indeed when I save it and view it in FSX it is black. I downloaded two alpha's off the FR website but I have no experience with any other layered paint kit giving me such a message. I would normally apply the alpha in DXTbmp, but with this one the saved dds file is black when I go into DXTbmp. . . .very confused. . .any help would be appreciated.

jankees
December 9th, 2015, 04:46
sorry, I don't have that model, but if you save first as a bmp, and then open that in dxtbmp, add the alpha and save as dds?

DaveB
December 9th, 2015, 05:43
That would be my take too. Is it defaulting to 32bit when you try and save? This would show the alpha is embedded but you should still be able to add your own.
Atb
DaveB:)

Jafo
December 9th, 2015, 05:58
Are you converting to DDS in something other than DXTBmp?
I never use anything other than it, doing all the graphics/layers in Paintshop - psp format saving to BMP ...adding it and the alpha into DXTBmp...and saving working versions in extended bitmap [8,8,8] until it's finished.
Only then is it flipped and saved as DDS - using DXTBmp.
For me it is the most logical - not confusing some hidden/included alpha from Photoshop/whatever...;)

Matt Wynn
December 9th, 2015, 06:32
I use the nvidia tools for Photoshop or a batch conversion program to take PSD to DDS.... that way you just work the alpha, drop it in to the alpha channel in PS, save it out (either directly via nvidia tools (Checking the save flipped vertically!) or into folder with batch converter) and jobs a good 'un!