PDA

View Full Version : PC Technical Question...

ThinkingManNeil
April 22nd, 2015, 20:48
Hi All;

I will be the first to admit that I am not tech savvy (I've been a 24/7 caregiver for my mom for some years now so I just don't have the time to spend learning all the arcane in's and out's of hardware and software), so when something goes wonky with my system I'm pretty much at a loss to understand, explain. or correct what happened.

Tonight when I signed on to my PC, something odd happened. The windows I opened were larger than normal as were the fonts and anything displayed in them. All of the icons on my display (22" LG LCD flatscreen) have more than doubled in size and take up more than half of the screen now, where they used to take up less than a third of the left side of the monitor. I've tried adjusting the display through the control panel but it's made no difference.

Any suggestions or advice would be genuinely appreciated.

Thanks,

N.

Dev One
April 22nd, 2015, 22:55
My first thought is to check your screen resolution.....try right click on your screen saver, then look in 'personalise' (W8.1, but I think its similar for earlier windows) you should then see a popup that allows you to change the pixels.
HTH
Keith

Dave Torkington
April 22nd, 2015, 23:12
If it's not screen resolution then it could be that you've accidentally pressed 'CTRL' and mousewheel zoom which will adjust the size of desktop icons and fonts...

Dave.

stansdds
April 23rd, 2015, 02:15
I just had the same thing happen to me after running Advanced System Care. It wiped out my video and audio drivers. Thank goodness my standard procedure before doing such scans is to create a restore point.

Dumonceau
April 23rd, 2015, 10:18
Neil,

Rightclick on your computer icon (desktop or start menu), select "manage", go to device manager and see if your vid card is still recognized. if it is not, you have to reïnstall the drivers of the thing.

If it is, then most of the suggestions above apply!