PDA

View Full Version : Warbirdsim P-51 engine sounds

ejoiner
February 19th, 2015, 16:49
Im new to the WBS P-51, however have on several occasions seen and heard real P-51s. the Packard Merlin makes a sound like no other. In listening to the WBS P-51, the engine sounds seem lacking in deep throatiness. Anybody else think this? Are there alternative engine sounds that would be better or is it just me and I need to be happy with what I bought?

E

fsxar177
February 19th, 2015, 21:56
You're not Alone...

There is an updated sound-pack being created, of which I have heard samples. Very promising..

I guess we'll have to wait, for now!

- Joseph

SpaceWeevil
February 20th, 2015, 10:33
I suppose it depends a bit on your audio setup, especially speakers / headphones. On fairly decent headphones I think the WBS P-51D sounds great from the pilot's seat (where I spend most of the time) but a bit weedy from outside, especially on 'fly-bys' in tower view. I appreciate that the 'airshow' aspect may not have been a design priority, but it is fun to do sometimes! I must admit I have aliased the sounds to my 'other' P-51D....

T6flyer
February 20th, 2015, 13:56
When I had my first P-51 flight back in the 1990s, I was amazed how noisy it was in the cockpit. By then I had also sampled other warbirds such as the T-6 and the TBM, but neither were like the Mustang. I take my hat off to all those young men that flew them in combat with just a cloth headset on. Not for me.

Happy Landings,

Martin

Off to have a go with the Warbirdsim one now, to have a listen! :)

WarHorse47
June 17th, 2015, 18:02
You're not Alone...

There is an updated sound-pack being created, of which I have heard samples. Very promising..

I guess we'll have to wait, for now!

- JosephGot me curious. Any updates on this? Who is doing the update, WBS? I should think that if its specific to the WBS Mustang series it should be available somewhere by now. Maybe?? :engel016:

fsxar177
June 17th, 2015, 22:06