PDA

View Full Version : Do you think 180hp can actually lift 5000lb 12 inches vertically?

SolarEagle
January 12th, 2009, 22:02
I decided to test the sim in an unusual way, though I imagine the more you try to push the limits the more inaccurate it becomes. I thought it would be ineresting to see how many pounds I could lift with a rotor powered by a 4cyl piston engine(R-22).

I managed to get 5000lb about a foot off the ground, and at 3500lb gross I managed to build enough speed to clear a tree line. Seems the amount of air pressure generated when the rotors are near the surface is quite a lot considering it was enough to suspend 5000lb, but that pressure seems to drop off drastically with every inch of clearance. I found that part of the modeling to be quite interesting.

Do you think this is accurate at all, or is there no way 180hp rotor can lift that kind of weight, if even only 12 inches?

Wulf190
January 12th, 2009, 22:10
I'd like to think it could, but I'm a pilot, not an aero-engineer. My C-172RG grosses out at 2,650lbs, and it's powered by a 180hp Lycoming O-360-F1A6. Anything above that weight and it's a no go.

Granted with me and my instructor we were roughly around 2400lbs. The Cutlass seemed to fair just fine at the weight and handles well, as long as your aware of it's nose heaviness when compared to a regular C-172.

But while I'd like to think it could lift 3500lbs or even 5000lbs; I'd rather have more power.

gajit
January 12th, 2009, 22:19
Hi SolarEagle

Its been a while since I flew the R22 in the real world. Ground effect, air temperature, wind speed can all help. To enalble a departure heavy we were taught to "cusion creep" where you hover taxied faster and faster low to the ground to transition into flight so that the ground cusion would reduce the power required. I cant remember the max all up weight but full fuel and 2 fat blokes could fly on a hot still day.

Lionheart
January 12th, 2009, 22:52