PDA

View Full Version : Need some expert help with airfile editing

mrogers
February 22nd, 2012, 19:31
I've been making new airfiles with Airwrench for a couple of fs2004 planes. Both are taildraggers, and I'd like the tails on these planes to rise early and quickly when throttling up in takeoff mode. Sometimes I do have to make individual adjustments in the airfile itself where fine tuning is needed after using Airwrench. Where can I adjust in the airfile to cause the tails to rise up early? Could someone knowledgable in advanced airfile editing enlighten me please? Been trying to work that out myself for ages with no luck, so it's got to the point where I've run out of ideas.

Tom Clayton
February 22nd, 2012, 21:02
I don't remember ever seeing anything about horizontal stab lift in any of the air file entries, only elevator effectiveness in the cfg. The only thing I can think of would be to make sure the CG isn't too far aft.

There's also a "htail_area" entry in the [airplane_geometry] section. Seems to me that gently increasing that would help with raising the tail earlier.

mrogers
February 23rd, 2012, 00:42
Thanks Tom I'll try that. What I'd like to do is to have the tail rise by itself at a specific airspeed with full throttle with minimal elevator use if possible.

Milton Shupe
February 23rd, 2012, 04:40
Hi Mark,

No expert here; assuming that your wing area, htail/elevators square footage are correct, root chord, and CoG are correct (25% MAC), you can inch rearward the CoLift a bit (in table 1534) to see how that helps. (I do mean inches - maybe 1-2) Don't overdo it. It is stated in feet so a -0.1 to -0.2 shoud be more than enough. After each change test your rollout.

Although it should lift the tail sooner, it will also not want to lift off by itself if you get too far back. You have to find the balance of tail up and rotate / lift.

You should be using a test panel from Mudpond.org or AFSD to test the effects.

SOLOBO
February 23rd, 2012, 08:06