PDA

View Full Version : Seeking ATI and FS9 setup info

harleyman
December 20th, 2008, 03:22
It seems I am leaving the dark world of FSX..I'm just tired of all its stupidity...:banghead:

So its back to FS9 on my new rig..The new computer is fairly powerful,and will hold frames wherever I lock it too..I now have it locked at 45 and with traffic at 100% it holds steady....

I have some slight *Shimmering* for lack of a better word,not the kind that AA fixes,its more in the middle of the screen and looks sort of like an old movie projector that flickers back behind you. But I'm sure its a set up issue..

I am new to ATI and having trouble finding that good setting.I have no performance issues,just that flickering/shimmer at times in the center of the screen....

I use the newest drivers 8.12,and just the Catalist Control Center..

Can you share your ATI and FS9 ingame settings please?

My specs are:

Samsung 24" 1920X1200X32

Case: Thermaltake VH8000BWS BK
Power: ThermalTake W0178RU 850W RT SLI Edition
MoBo: GIGABYTE GA-X48-DQ6 775 X48
CPU: INTEL|C2D E8600 3.33G 775 6M
CPU Cooler: Artic Pro 7
GPU: VISIONTEK Radion 900250 HD4870X2 2G
Mem: OCZ 2X2 @ 1066
HD1: 150 Gig Raptor @ 10,000
HD2: 300G VelociRaptor @ 10,000
HD3: 650 Gig Seagate @7,200 32Mb Cache

Thanks in advance for any tips on this....

FengZ
December 20th, 2008, 08:39
shimmering comes from the mip-map setting. Inside FS9, it's on the last display panel (the one where you set the resolution). Look on the bottom. A setting of 4 or 5 should be plenty (i use 4 and have no problems). If you max it, it'll shimmer for sure.

then in your v-card setting, select Quality or High Quality for Mips...and you're good to go...