PDA

View Full Version : My Big Little City is in Trouble and I'm Angry

erufle
January 7th, 2012, 05:01
Please understand that I am a science teacher in Wichita, Kansas and, to a degree, I am looking from the outside-in . . . and I'm angry, very angry.

After 80 years in Wichita, Boeing has decided to shut down their operations here and that makes me angry. It's happening HERE! Here in the town that played a GIGANTIC role in defeating Japan during WWII. The people of Wichita and its surrounding areas did not play a huge role in WWII just because our boys were dying on the Pacific Islands but also because our women were building the B-29s that laid waste to Japanese cities. This is the town that exemplified Rosy the Riveter. Farming in Sedgwick County and surrounding areas still went on, but by day we were busy winning a war. That is not my only source of pride as a life-long Wichitan.

After 60 years, B-52s still fill the skies over our enemies and pock-mark their battlefields with bomb craters because Wichitans (and others) kept refitting the worlds greatest bombers extending their service life to . . . damn, can you believe most of those still in service are 50-years-old and not expected to be retired anytime soon? But, I'm so angry with Boeing because they didn't even have the guts to say why they pulled out. And, all this after Kansas politicians put up a huge fight to help Boeing wrestle the new refueling tanker contract away from Airbus, after which, Boeing promised Wichita about 7200 new jobs. What are the words you call people who do things like that? I'm angry. This is not the Boeing of previous generations.