PDA

View Full Version : I broke down and got a tablet

Cazzie
December 18th, 2011, 17:52
I have been shopping for about three months, read reviews, played with them all, and just had to go with the Toshiba Android Thrive 3.1 (upgraded to 3.2). The iPad2 is fine, if all one wants is a bigger smart phone, ditto the Samsung Galaxy. But Toshiba got it all right, rubberized backing, thick enough for a man to handle, the iPad2 and Galaxy are too thin for my big hands and once one feels the Galaxy, it feels cheap. Toshiba made the Thrive thicker for a purpose too, unlike all the other tablets on the market, which depend on Cloud technology to store photos, Toshiba went a few steps beyond by having ports for a mini-USB 2.0, a standard USB 2.0, an SDXD camera card, and an HDMI for porting HD movies from Netflix (or other video media) to any non-internet HDTV. And it costs $100.00 less than either the iPad2 or the Galaxy. The battery is replaceable too, charges twice as fast as the iPad2's and has longer service when using the battery by nearly two hours.

I am hooked, can now take books or movies to bed, anywhere, I am not stuck in a computer chair! My two boys have iPad2s and having used both, I can tell you the WiFi in this Thrive and its user friendly nature will put the iPad2 to shame. Photoshop has a real nice ap for Android os tablets too for a cheap $9.99, that allows me to take photos on the road and edit them in an instant for the web, even a Photobucket ap for me to upload to my account. Oh, the Thrive supports Flash Player too, try that with an iPad

If any of you are in the market for a tablet, I can highly recommend the Toshiba Thrive, I'll never take a laptop on the road with me again. It has a 5mp camera in the rear and a 2mp camera in the front, sadly neither have a flash capability though. But I prefer to take photos with my DSLR anyhow.

Caz

Lateral-G
December 19th, 2011, 06:13
Nice that Toshiba added the USB ports. One thing sadly lacking on the ipad.