PDA

View Full Version : Beechcraft B350 Will Not Slow Down

idahosurge
June 1st, 2011, 17:13
I have been flying jets mostly for at least five years and I jumped into the Beech King Air 350 today.

When coming in for a landing the plane will not slow down. Even though throttles, prop and conditioner levers are set to the lowest setting, gear down, flaps set to full and desending to the runway the plane will not slow down. I have to tilt the nose up to get the thing to slow down and I am not in a steep desent.

I use to fly this all the time in FS2000 and FS9, I never had this problem as far as I recall. I flew the Beechcraft Baron 58 today after the King Air and it will at least slow down and I have to add throttle to go ahead and land.

Any ideas why the King Air will not slow down?

falcon409
June 1st, 2011, 21:17
I assume this airplane has an Autopilot, if so, check to be sure the "Auto-throttle" isn't engaged. I've been the victim of that on occasion.:salute:

LonelyplanetXO
June 1st, 2011, 21:55
turboprops are basically crap in FSX. Implementation is very buggy. Theyre about as accurate as helicopters.

LPXOI

warchild
June 1st, 2011, 23:40
Who's 350 do you have??? I'll check it out if youd like..

expat
June 2nd, 2011, 01:10
Make sure the AP is off AND that the two condition levers are on "low idle" - just above the idle/cut off point.

Motormouse
June 2nd, 2011, 01:59
Make sure the AP is off AND that the two condition levers are on "low idle" - just above the idle/cut off point.

Wrong for a PT6; low idle on the fuel conditon lever is only used on ground;during start-up. Stops ham-fisted pilots overtemping the EGT. You need to use the props as a 'brake' by going to 100% rpm, this allows them to pitch back to the 'Beta' minimum angle of @ 11 deg for a PT6.

Reducing Props to minimum too has opposite effect, they will not reach 'Beta' minimum angle so your 'Flight Idle' thrust will be too high and you won't slow down.