PDA

View Full Version : Why MegaPixels and Pixel peeping Matters!

EasyEd
May 21st, 2011, 16:28
Hey All,

I see a lot of people say you don't need lots of megapixels and you don't need to pixel peep. I've always thought it a complete crock of ____ to say that. This is from:

http://www.seriouscompacts.com/f42/why-pixel-peeping-megapixels-matter-me-2455/

WHY PIXEL PEEPING AND MEGAPIXELS MATTER TO ME.

Pixel-peeping is almost a term of abuse these days. "The difference only matters to pixel-peepers" etc. I spend a lot of time testing lens / sensor combinations, and attempting to see what is sharp and what isn't, how much CA and fringing there is, and how in general a file looks viewed at 100% on a good monitor. So what does that make me? The photographic equivalent of someone who listens to their hi-fi rather than the music? Some nerd who's more interested in lens performance than taking pictures?

Well no. Its often a matter of commercial necessity. As many are aware I make my living as a stock photographer, selling images via picture library websites. Many of those websites have a submission and acceptance / rejection way of working. I know that the images I send to them are going to be "pixel-peeped" to a very high level. My images will be scrutinised for technical quality and faults will not be tolerated. If I can't get an image accepted onto a website then it won't sell. This makes making a living somewhat difficult.I therefore have to make sure that even before I submit an image to a library, it has to be "scrubbed up" to pass the stringent quality control criteria.