November 29th, 2008, 09:13
http://www.foxnews.com/story/0,2933,458725,00.html

cheezyflier
November 29th, 2008, 10:05
robin becomes batman?
WEAK

Snuffy
November 29th, 2008, 11:21
Oh good lord!! Everyone knows the senior Wayne is Dead and has been for countless years.

I actually thought this was a story line about Adam West dying. :redf:

Trans_23
November 29th, 2008, 13:55
Say it isn't so...

Odie
November 29th, 2008, 14:06
Sad, but true.....unfortunately. In the current age of comics, heroes are fighting heroes and every hero has angst and is conflicted...*eck*

I've been collecting comics since I was 5 years old and these past few years have been real downers except for a few bright spots in the superhero world. I don't know whether it's me getting older or the books taking a decidedly dark turn, but I prefer my heroes to be HEROES and fight bad guys, not other heroes!

If this current trend continues (weekly issues of comics that cross-over into monthlies along with Crisis upon Crisis in multiple universes that end and then somehow pop back up) the comic writers of today may be writing themselves out of an audience as it is just about impossible to pick up a single issue and jump right in. A new reader might find themselves bewildered as to "what the heck is going on" by picking up a single issue these days. I buy the issues that I need to keep the collection current, but the interest in the storylines isn't there. I'm reading in online forums of more and more people with the same sentiments.

Peter David wrote a great column on this subject a while back in The Comic Buyer's Guide. Stories that start and end in one issue (done in one) are so very rare that you often need a 4 issue running start just to get your surroundings straight. The latest trend is weekly issues (52 per year) of comics, the events of which branch out into the monthly issues. Get a couple of these going from DC and Marvel and your pocketbook starts to yelp !