PDA

View Full Version : dark VC's

hurricane3
July 12th, 2010, 06:30
I have noticed that for most addon planes for CFS2 the VC's are very dark.Most don't seem to have panel lights to help out.Anyone else notice this? And is there a fix that even I can do?

sc7500
July 12th, 2010, 10:01
I pondered this a bit. I'm NOT a VC expert by any means, but the idea of adding lighting IS intriguing...

First, have a look at this thread for the S-O-H past:

http://www.sim-outhouse.com/sohforums/showthread.php?t=12177

Regarding adding lighting to a Bomber's VC.

THEN, try d/ling the following:

http://www.simviation.com/cgi-bin/syb2.cgi?section=cfs&file=VCLC.zip

And let us know how your luck ran !

Best
SC
:kilroy:

bearcat241
July 12th, 2010, 12:03
VC lighting is a component which cannot be "added" after the fact to any exisitng model. It's a feature which is either designed into the mdl during construction or not. The VC lighting entries in the aircraft.cfg are there to "activate" what's designed into the mdl. If the component is in the mdl and you have the proper cfg entries present, you can toggle it on/off manually by assigning a Lights keystroke command. If your model doesn't have VC lighting built in, the standard aircraft.cfg VC entries will not help.

The VCLC.zip package won't add VC lighting to any model. It only gives you multiple options for changing the lighting color for a model which has active, built-in VC.

hurricane3
July 12th, 2010, 12:53
That all makes sense but why are the VC's dark in the first place?The stock aircraft have mostly lighter panels that you can at least see without squinting.Most (not all), but most addon aircraft VC's ,the ones that even look like panels and not just black sheets of plywood,are so dark you can barely make out the gauges.
Just always wondered why that is.Or maybe it's my old eyes.

bearcat241
July 12th, 2010, 18:27