PDA

View Full Version : I went solo yesterday.

SirBenn21
January 22nd, 2010, 19:17
I actually stopped after about 20 hours of training last year in May '09 due to various reasons.
Ever since I've been pining like hell to get back into the swing of things.
Yesterday I decided that I had enough and told the missus I'm going up for a joy ride just to cure some of the "pain" of not flying.
I phoned up the school and booked a ride for the afternoon. When I arrived I was happy to see my old instructor was available to take me up. He promptly sent me out to do my pre-flight.
After a small brief we were on the taxiway on our way to runway 27.
The first circuit was atrocious. :redface: It was like I was a complete new newbie. I even landed short of the threshold, which was swiftly addressed by my instructor who made it quite clear he was not impressed. He to my surprise really worked me hard and I quickly improved each circuit to the point I was enjoying it now again. We also did a "loss of power" emergency landing. It was just like old times. :naturesm:
Finally he told me to make a "full stop" on the next landing. It was a greaser! :wiggle:
We came to a stop and he asked me to backtrack (It was a quiet afternoon) all the way to the threshold. I started to get suspicious. Surly he wouldn't! I haven't flown in 7 months I told myself! :icon_eek:
Sure enough. I got the solo brief. Do this, don't do that, go around if you are not sure etc. And out he jumped! :icon_eek:
Heart pounding a little I pushed the throttle to full and was soon up in the air.
Man what a feeling. Difficult to describe. Everything went really well. Even the landing. I had to also give the victory HEeeeHAaaaa when safely back on the ground. I was elated. :icon29:

Ben

glennc
January 22nd, 2010, 19:20
Congratulations. You will remember this day for the rest of your life! :applause::medals::salute:

Glenn

MCDesigns
January 22nd, 2010, 19:23
Awesome man, congrats!! :ernae::ernae:

MenendezDiego