PDA

View Full Version : Just thought I'd share the news...

idancesafetydance
June 27th, 2009, 12:43
I solo'd this Friday in a Schweizer SGS 2-33 nicknamed "Taco" at the C.A.P. National Flight Academy at Mattoon IL. Out of 24 people 4 of us solo'd and the rest pre-solo'd. I guess your supposed to have 30 flights before you can solo, but I did it in 19. I'll get pics of Taco eventually, my camera battery died. Gee... I used to love powered flight, but gliding makes powered seem, uninteresting to me now.:jump:

luckydog
June 27th, 2009, 13:16
Congratulations IDSD !!!!

I put about 5 hrs in a '33 back when they first came out but never soloed...... I prefer the longer rides in a powered aircraft.

If you haven't already, check out the Condor Soaring sim. It's a blast!!!
I've been soaring on Condor for almost 2 yrs. now and love it (under the name of "Snake Eater").

LD

idancesafetydance
June 27th, 2009, 13:17
Congratulations IDSD !!!!

I put about 5 hrs in a '33 back when they first came out but never soloed...... I prefer the longer rides in a powered aircraft.

If you haven't already, check out the Condor Soaring sim. It's a blast!!!
I've been soaring on Condor for almost 2 yrs. now and love it (under the name of "Snake Eater").

LD

condor soaring sim... hmmmm.. how much?

Maarten -
June 27th, 2009, 13:33
Congratulations. :ernae:
Yeah, to me gliding is the nicest form of flying too. Unfortunately for medical reasons I may not fly on my own anymore, but it is still nice to be a "passenger".

Don't know if you know about Wolgang Piper's FS Glider site, but here's the link. Quite a few "plastic" aircraft but even more "classics" (wood/fabric).
http://www.fsglider.de/index.htm

Many happy landings,
Maarten

luckydog
June 27th, 2009, 14:02
condor soaring sim... hmmmm.. how much?

You can find it at the Flightsim pilot shop for $49.95 (download). There's also a Plane Pack 1 that'll give you 5 more aircraft for an extra $14.

Bomber_12th
June 27th, 2009, 15:03