PDA

View Full Version : Ils

Pepere
April 10th, 2009, 17:24
How do you find the ILS frequency to a runway when you want to do an ILS approach. I use either the Map or the ezgpsv4 gauge by Abacus.. It just a pain. Is there an easyer way? Wish ATC would provide it when they assign me the landing runway.

David

glennc
April 10th, 2009, 18:39
David,

Within FSX, I don't know of any other than the map - or the GPS. The "NRST" button will show you the nearest airports and on the com/nav page are all the frequencies. If the airport you need isn't visible, you can edit the airport ICAO code to show the airport data you need. There is also a nearest VOR page but the codes may not be real helpful. There are also some add-ons that help. I find SimPlatesX to be very useful.

Glenn

Pepere
April 10th, 2009, 19:07
Is there a way I can learn to use the GPS fully. I've been using FS for 20+ years yet can't figgure the GPS out.

David

glennc
April 10th, 2009, 19:24
David,

FS's Learning Center should have it all. Hands on experimentation works best. In the standard FSX GPS500, there are two concentric knobs on the lower left corner. If you think of the pages on the display like pages in a book, the outer knob moves between chapters, the inner knob flips pages within chapters. If you press the inner knob in, that activates a cursor for editing of fields. As mean mouthed as the GPS is, there is really a lot of information behind it. It doesn't get close to replicating any real GPS but within the FSX world, it's not really too bad. If you have FSX Deluxe, the G1000 panels give you about 25% of the real functionality, and at least it looks like the real one up to a point.

Hope that helps,

Glenn

azflyboy
April 10th, 2009, 19:55
The frequencies are available from the map screen in FSX by clicking on an airport icon, where it should list the runways, their dimensions, and the ILS frequencies (if applicable).