PDA

View Full Version : PTO and Rhumba's Watemasks

stuart277
February 22nd, 2019, 17:09
Hi All,

I am making a new PTO install from scratch and I have a question about Rhumba's Mesh and Watermasks.

In Rami and DVSlats PTO install guide it says put the watermask files in the SCENEDB\world\scenery folder.

I seem to remember people saying the watermasks are too 'aggressive'? and they should be deactivated.

Any advice would be appreciated.

Cheers,

Stuart

Rami
February 23rd, 2019, 03:34
Stuart,

It's a complicated question. There are certain packages of MaskRider's that are built specifically for Rhunbaflappy's watermasks; some Dutch East Indies airfields, some additional DEI airfields by Onnogras, MaskRider's Marianas, and his Sakishima-Gunto airfield packages. Other than that, it's problematic.

kdriver
February 23rd, 2019, 04:16
Hi Stuart,

If you want to have all the PTO scenery available, download all of Rhumba's files, viz. water masks, mesh, coast and water files. Install as separate layers via the scenery library in either the SCENEDB or ADDON folders. The water masks, coast and water files are one layer each (the water files are a few separate downloads). The LOD5 mesh goes in the SCENEDB/world folder while the LOD 7 and LOD 8 files are separate layers installed via the scenery library.

Once the hierarchy is correct, the complicated part is activating/deactivating layers depending on which part of the PTO you are operating. The mesh can stay active all the time while you may have to switch from Rhumba's older coast and water files to his newer water masks and vice versa depending where you are.

If you go ahead with this I can give you the scenery order plus a few other details.

Cheers,

Kevin

MaskRider
February 23rd, 2019, 04:22
I seem to remember people saying the watermasks are too 'aggressive'? and they should be deactivated.

Hiya Stuart,

Yes, I have said this.