PDA

View Full Version : How do I increase pitch-stability in turns? (C172SP)

LOWI
July 29th, 2017, 14:33
Hello :)

I'm new here and I'm a student starting training soon, practicing on the Microsoft FSX SP1, no add-ons (I only adapted the C172SP configuration myself a little), running on Windows 7, using the Saitek Flight System Yoke.

I would like to make the Cessna 172SP more stable when turning.
I use it to practice certain maneuvers having nothing but the instruments in view (makeshift IFR so to say).
When I go for a 20° bank, the plane will naturally tend to sink unless I counteract by using the elevator (pulling the yoke) or pitch trim, however, in the exam environment we are only allowed to use the yoke, no trimming.

While this effect is desired of course, I want to make it less prominent, so I was wondering which parameter I have to change in the aircraft.cfg

The RPM for horizontal flight should stay at 2200 RPM, this is a value that we were already given by the instructor. So I am technically not allowed to change throttle while in turn.

I was thinking about changing one of the following paramters:

power_scalar=1.24 //Piston power scalar
thrust_scalar=0.80 //Propeller thrust scalar

but maybe I'm wrong and I need to change one of these:
cruise_lift_scalar = 1.00
oswald_efficiency_factor=0.68 //Measure of lift effeciency of wing

The question is: Will a higher propeller thrust result in a better pitch stability during turns or is it something that depends on the wing geometry itself, however, the IFR simulator the exam will be taken on (a C172R simulator) shows much better pitch stability in turns for some reason...Almost like it has sort of an auto trim function but it has not, I checked.

Thank you very much in advance

Steven190
July 29th, 2017, 15:11
Are you using the rudder? it will keep the nose up to horizon.

Ganter
July 30th, 2017, 00:25