PDA

View Full Version : Is AffinityMask Important??

Aharon
April 16th, 2017, 06:15
Shalom and greetings all my pals,

While I am working hard to modify and sharpen FSX's settings to get crisp sharp ground textures from FL350 which I am doing well, I have one more question for all of you please

Is AffinityMask entry in FSX.cfg important or not? Will AffinityMask result into sharper ground textures from FL350?

And should I use AffinityMask=84 in my FSX.cfg? Is it correct number?

I know it is old news and old topic for all of you but AffinityMask is new thing for me even though I have been flying on FSX for almost 10 years.

Regards,

Aharon

DaveB
April 16th, 2017, 06:28
Aharon..

why are you posting the same question all over the globe?
ATB
DaveB:)

malibu43
April 16th, 2017, 06:31
I don't think you'll know if AM will help you until you try it, and the number that you use is unique for each system.

I recently followed this guide and got a small fps and smoothness improvement.

forums/topic/444793-one-tweak-to-rule-them-all-how-to-set-affinity-mask-correctly/

ncooper
April 16th, 2017, 07:23
Arguably today's processors are perfectly capably of running FSX
without the need for an Affinity Mask.
Almost all tweaks were published in the days when there just wasn't
enough power in a PC to run it properly.
They are pretty much all redundant and the owners of a 4+ghz CPU and
a decent graphics card will see no difference with or without.
If you disagree, given that it is very simple to set up, perhaps the time
spent posting the question might be better spent testing the various options.

DaveB
April 16th, 2017, 07:46
hahahaha..