PDA

View Full Version : Exhaust flame?



TeiscoDelRay
April 6th, 2017, 19:40
Trying to figure out how to make a flame texture come out of the exhaust. I tried a light but how to make it come on with engine because it only wants to come on when the lights are switched on.

jeansy
April 6th, 2017, 20:20
its an .fx not a texture

try something like this

[LIGHTS]
//Types: 1=beacon, 2=strobe, 3=navigation, 4=cockpit, 5=landing, 6=taxi, 7=recognition, 8=ENGINE1, 9=ENGINE2
x
x
x
x
light.5 =8, 5.928, -30.30, -3.30, FX_exhaust_Flame
light.6 =9, 7.395, 14.10, -5.07 , FX_exhaust_Flame

use whatever exhaust fx you like and end there posn of the end of the pipe, I used the above as an IE

however you then need to edit the electrical section have them turned on when the engines powers up the generators

ie
[electrical]
light_engine1 = 0, 20, 19
light_engine2 = 0, 20, 19

thats the method I use , or find an aircraft that has continual exhaust and look at their lighting and electrical parts of the cfg to get another example

TeiscoDelRay
April 6th, 2017, 22:26
Thanks Matt.

Jafo
April 7th, 2017, 05:28
You can set burner effects to percentages of throttle opening via addons/entries to the aircraft.cfg and panel.cfg by adding appropriate effects and xml 'gauges'....tho, as jeansy says....it's easiest to find an existing plane with appropriate effects you want and add them to yours....
Here's a 'typical' I did for an AS 105D ...
Aircraft.cfg....

//------------------------------- Afterburner....3 stage burner toggle.
light.9 = 2, -18.40, 0.00, 0.35, fx_JAFO_St1 // 20% throttle ring
light.10 = 1, -18.40, 0.00, 0.35, fx_JAFO_St2 // 50% throttle burner
light.11 = 9, -17.00, 0.00, 0.35, fx_JAFO_St3_AB // 90% AB flame trail setback to hide rings

and... Panel.cfg...

// AB effects which work correctly....with 3 stage burner toggle.
gauge00=F105D!AB-Stage1-20pc, 6,2,10,10
gauge01=F105D!AB-Stage2-50pc, 6,2,10,10
gauge02=F105D!AB-Stage3-90pc, 6,2,10,10

Willy
April 7th, 2017, 05:34
Calfifornia Classics has these effects included in with a lot of their aircraft. But if you adjust the locations in the aircraft.cfg, then you can make them fit any aircraft you want. And if you're comfortalbe mucking about with xml, you can change when they kick in. I took the set for the C-46 and have them working on the JBK Boeing 307 Stratoliner.

TeiscoDelRay
April 7th, 2017, 05:35
Been testing this and got a flame to work but it is sideways and I cannot find how to align it with the plane.

Jafo
April 7th, 2017, 06:24
Been testing this and got a flame to work but it is sideways and I cannot find how to align it with the plane.

the 3 numbers...after the light number and type...eg....

light.9 = 2, -18.40, 0.00, 0.35, fx_JAFO_St1 // 20% throttle ring [in bold]

are the x, y, z, co-ordinates of the emitter [flame] defined from the model's arbitrary zero point defined by the modeller....
length back from center....offset to side...height above center.

They will differ in specifics with every aircraft.
Trial and error will see you get it all to align correctly...;)

Edit....forgot....in 'feet' ...;)

TeiscoDelRay
April 7th, 2017, 07:09
In the aircraft config or the effect config? I have adjusted the numbers in the aircraft config but I need to align the flame with the plane because now it is sideways (pointing wing to wing and not front to back). I need to turn it 90 degrees from where it is now.

Tako_Kichi
April 7th, 2017, 09:35
You will need to edit the .fx file in order to turn the effect through 90°.

TeiscoDelRay
April 7th, 2017, 11:33
Thanks, do you know what section it is in and what to look for?

Tako_Kichi
April 7th, 2017, 13:22
It will be one (or more) of the 'heading' or 'rotation' values (more than likely heading) but which I can't say. Trial and error is probably your only option.

Jafo
April 7th, 2017, 15:59
It'd be a lot easier just to find an effect file that actually goes in the right direction....;)

Editing an effect file isn't for the novice. Depending on complexity there can be a LOT of entries that will need changing.

TeiscoDelRay
April 8th, 2017, 06:41
Got the hard part done,,,took 11 hours to make this new effect config and align it. Now I have to figure out how to link it to the engines and hopefully only come on at high power (it currently only comes on with the lights), Advice welcome :)

Watch the video because the flames are animated.

https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=V8yfsaWt-GE&feature=youtu.be

spokes2112
April 8th, 2017, 13:32
Post just the [Lights] and/or [Smoke] section (whole sections please) of the aircraft.cfg and the trigger parameters you want to make 'em light, IE MAP, RPM, Other..
Should be able to make a xml controlling gauge to take care of it for you - Not a problem, no worries.

Cheers

TeiscoDelRay
April 8th, 2017, 14:06
Wow, thanks, sent you a PM :)

TeiscoDelRay
April 13th, 2017, 06:15
Problem with adding flames is that the Connie has a front bank and rear bank (two exhaust on each side) and FSX light number limit is 18 where as I would need 22 to do two on each side. Is there a way to get around the FSX light number limit?

n4gix
April 13th, 2017, 09:33
Use the Smoke system. It will support up to 99 entries. The only "gottcha" with Smoke entries is that they only work when the engine(s) are running, but this obviously wouldn't be a problem for exhaust flames! :very_drunk:

TeiscoDelRay
April 13th, 2017, 11:01
Thanks but not sure how I can use a light in the smoke effects section.

spokes2112
April 13th, 2017, 11:15
Repeating what Fr. Bill said, use the smoke system.
Just did a test for you (since we conversed earlier on this) and found that A2A used the "global" smoke on/off command rather than the newer individually controlled smoke. Once the global command is used the individually controlled smokes are no longer available for use.
Not a problem though... They turn on the smoke when the MP (any engine) is greater than 42" and off when it falls below. (May be kind of nice)
Take your smokes out of the [lights] section and put them in the [smokesystem] section.
Hope this helps.


[smokesystem]
//Z,X,Y
smoke.0 = 9.6, -31.07, 0.97, fx_wos_l049_propsmoke
smoke.1 = 11.1, -13.78, -0.48, fx_wos_l049_propsmoke
smoke.2 = 11.1, 13.78, -0.48, fx_wos_l049_propsmoke
smoke.3 = 9.6, 31.07, 0.97, fx_wos_l049_propsmoke

// From left to right - fore, aft

//Engine1, Outboard, Fore
smoke.4 = Z, X, Y, fx_custom_exhaust
//Engine1, Outboard, Aft
smoke.5 = Z, X, Y, fx_custom_exhaust
//Engine1, Inboard, Fore
smoke.6 = Z, X, Y, fx_custom_exhaust
//Engine1, Inboard, Aft
smoke.7 = Z, X, Y, fx_custom_exhaust

//Engine2, Outboard, Fore
smoke.8 = Z, X, Y, fx_custom_exhaust
//Engine2, Outboard, Aft
smoke.9 = Z, X, Y, fx_custom_exhaust
//Engine2, Inboard, Fore
smoke.10 = Z, X, Y, fx_custom_exhaust
//Engine2, Inboard, Aft
smoke.11 = Z, X, Y, fx_custom_exhaust

//Engine3, Inboard, Fore
smoke.12 = Z, X, Y, fx_custom_exhaust
//Engine3, Inboard, Aft
smoke.13 = Z, X, Y, fx_custom_exhaust
//Engine3, Outboard, Fore
smoke.14 = Z, X, Y, fx_custom_exhaust
//Engine3, Outboard, Aft
smoke.15 = Z, X, Y, fx_custom_exhaust

//Engine4, Inboard, Fore
smoke.16 = Z, X, Y, fx_custom_exhaust
//Engine4, Inboard, Aft
smoke.17 = Z, X, Y, fx_custom_exhaust
//Engine4, Outboard, Fore
smoke.18 = Z, X, Y, fx_custom_exhaust
//Engine4, Outboard, Aft
smoke.19 = Z, X, Y, fx_custom_exhaust

TeiscoDelRay
April 13th, 2017, 14:12
You sir have done it !!. flames come on when mp is around 42 45. Now is there a way to adjust this global trigger to have them come on at 35 or so? The FE will not allow mp at that high a range and caps it at 35 mp full throttle.


https://photos.smugmug.com/Me/i-MSr2DC8/0/L/firexxxxx-L.png (https://paulgrubich.smugmug.com/Me/i-MSr2DC8/A)