Results 1 to 7 of 7

Thread: Specs?

  1. #1
    winslow33
    Guest

    Specs?

    Hello:wave:

    I might be either rebuilding my computer this summer, or just buying a new one. I'm thinking about trying to find a copy of CFS2 to give it a try when I finaly get a working computer I can game on. Does CFS2 require any spectacular system requirements like CFS3, or can I just put it on any old machine like CFS1 and make it work acceptably? Because I have a computer I can use for old games like CFS1 but it needs a new hard drive. Unless I can find myself a reason to buy a hard drive, I'll just leave it to collect dust until I totally rebuld it. It only has 128MB of working RAM trying to haul Windows XP:faint: . Just wondering if CFS2 can run on this like the earlier CFS.
    Thanks for the help in advance.

  2. #2
    Merged... over Atlanta bearcat241's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jun 2005
    Location
    where eagles dare!
    Age
    56
    Posts
    1,969
    Basic system requirements can be read here:

    http://www.microsoft.com/games/pc/combatfs2.aspx#buyit

    "If you're in a fair fight, you didn't plan it right"


  3. #3
    SOH Staff Devildog73's Avatar
    Join Date
    Sep 2005
    Location
    Satellite Beach, Florida
    Age
    62
    Posts
    1,578
    Yeppers, Bearcat, those are certainly the basics for CFS2.

    I would recommend at least doubling all of the values for a CFS2 install that actually is more than an arcade game, though.



    Microsoft® Windows® XP or Vista
    • PC with 1 GHz equivalent or higher processor
    • 256 MB of RAM for Windows XP or 1 GHz of RAM for Vista
    • 350MB available hard disk space, 50 MB of available hard disk space for swap file
    • 4x speed or faster CD-ROM drive
    • 128 MB video card
    • Sound card, speakers or headphones required for audio
    • Microsoft Mouse or compatible pointing device
    • 56.6 Kbps or better modem for online play
    These would be my minimums.
    Devildog73

    Semper Fi
    "Earned RESPECT seldom needs to demand respect"

  4. #4
    I experienced a lot of fun since 2003 using :
    windows 2000 or XP SP2
    512 k processor
    256 MB RAM
    video card GeForce 4 MX440 64 MB
    roughly 2 GB in the hard drive

  5. #5
    I ran CFS2 pretty good on a system with a 500MHZ CPU, 756MB of RAM, and a Geforce Mx400MX card.

    You can build a pretty good 'budget' system and CFS2 will scream on it.
    Take my love, take my land / Take me where I cannot stand, I don't care, I'm still free / You can't take the sky from me.

    Take me out to the black / Tell 'em I ain't comin' back.

    Burn the land and boil the sea / You can't take the sky from me...

  6. #6
    winslow33
    Guest
    Well, it looks like my machine can do it... Now I just have to try to hunt down a copy of the game...:typing:

    thanks everyone.

  7. #7
    Go here for a copy of CFS 2
    http://www.amazon.com/Microsoft-Comb...3854297&sr=1-2

    If you are going to run Vista,and contrary to what people would like to think it's no problem,have a minimum of 2 gigs of ram,better with 3 and run 32 bit Vista.
    Of course I know what I'm doing,gee whiz......ouch,owwwww

Similar Threads

  1. Replies: 1
    Last Post: February 14th, 2012, 10:31
  2. FSX Computer Specs?
    By UKVoodoo in forum FSX General Discussion
    Replies: 6
    Last Post: December 3rd, 2009, 05:29
  3. I want to improve my PC's specs where possible...
    By mrogers in forum FS 2002/2004 General Discussion
    Replies: 14
    Last Post: October 3rd, 2009, 07:33
  4. bundling new FS rig, what do you think of specs?
    By pilottj in forum FSX General Discussion
    Replies: 29
    Last Post: August 21st, 2009, 06:09
  5. What are your specs?
    By idancesafetydance in forum FS 2002/2004 General Discussion
    Replies: 22
    Last Post: June 27th, 2009, 12:46

Members who have read this thread: 0

Bookmarks

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •