Results 1 to 18 of 18

Thread: Microsoft Flight has detected a corrupted...

  1. #1

    Microsoft Flight has detected a corrupted...

    "Microsoft Flight has detected a corrupted installation and will now exit."

    Anyone else having this perpetual problem? Think I've deleted and re-installed about 5 times now. Flight will then run once. The next time I try to run I get that error message. Click the OK button and it exits to Windows. Getting fed up!
    Cheers,
    Dave

  2. #2
    SOH-CM-2014
    Join Date
    Jul 2005
    Location
    The land where dust is manufactured and people are high temp tested!
    Age
    52
    Posts
    12,329
    Does this team have an email of which to ask for tech help?

    Just curious.
    Humble Poly bender and warrior of Vertices


    Alienware Console i7 3770 CPU 3.40 GHz / 16 Gigs of RAM / GTX660 GC w/2 Gigs of VRAM / Windows 7 64 Ultimate
    Running 3X Samsung 840 SSD HD's, 200 Gig each, 500/500 Read/Write

  3. #3
    Hey Bill,
    Welcome! Funny, I was just re-installing your Epic LT (still a great add-on) on my updated to Win 7 FSX installation.

    The official MS "Flight" site does have some troubleshooting tips, but it doesn't address this particular problem. I've tried excluding it from MS security essentials, but no luck.
    Cheers,
    Dave

  4. #4
    Senior Administrator Roger's Avatar
    Join Date
    Oct 2000
    Location
    EGCD...'til they bulldoze it!
    Age
    62
    Posts
    7,861
    Dave, I wonder if uninstalling, then reinstalling Flight is as problematic as with FsX. Perhaps using Revo uninstaller and then running a registry cleaner would allow you to reinstall without issues?
    To err is human; to forgive is divine.

    SYSTEM :
    OS:Win7 Home Premium 64 bit UAC OFF!
    DX versionDx9c and Dx10.
    Processor:I5 4670k overclocked to 4.4 gHz with Corsair CW-9060008-WW hydro cooler
    Motherboard:Z87
    RAM:16 gig 1866 gigaHz Corsair ram
    Video Card:EVGA 770 2 gig ram factory overclocked
    HD:750gb Samsung 840 evo SSD

  5. #5
    Alright, I've tried everything I can think of:

    -I have a clean install of Win7 64 Ultimate with all available updates.
    -I've removed and re-installed flight numerous times.
    -I've tried removing and re-installing Windows Live sign-in assistant, but I get an error stating I have a newer version already installed.
    -I've tried the 'Run' commands listed in the Flight support error codes site.
    -I'm NOT going to try and mess around with anything in my registry!

    Interestingly enough, when I loaded Flight up the first time on my VISTA installation, I got the same error. I removed and re-installed Flight on VISTA and it then worked just fine (until I screwed up my VISTA installation trying to update my video drivers - forcing the upgrade to Win7 a couple of days ago). I purchased and installed the Hawaiian pack with the RV-6 on VISTA, and it has carried over to my Win7 installation (confirmed when I can start Flight after a re-install). I wouldn't mind so much as I can run FSX better than ever after my upgrades, but I like Flight (when it runs) and I spent $20.00 on the Hawaii pack.

    Does any know of a link to MS Flight support forums? If not, does anyone know how I can get a refund on the Hawaii pack? Such a shame as I think Flight really has potential.

    PS: I'm heading out of town for a couple of days tonight.
    Cheers,
    Dave

  6. #6
    Potential Petrologist
    Join Date
    Dec 2005
    Location
    Eastern Edge, Basin and Range Province
    Age
    24
    Posts
    734
    Have you redownloaded the installer from Windows Live? Corrupted installer archives are usually the reason for such an error message. Your connection probably dropped a packet or two during the process of downloading the first time.
    "Wherefore, if ye shall press forward, feasting upon the word of Christ, and endure to the end, behold, thus saith the Father: Ye shall have eternal life." - 2 Nephi 31:20

    Mormon.org

  7. #7
    Quote Originally Posted by EMatheson View Post
    Have you redownloaded the installer from Windows Live? Corrupted installer archives are usually the reason for such an error message. Your connection probably dropped a packet or two during the process of downloading the first time.

    Yes I did. Also tried the link on the MS Flight support site.
    Cheers,
    Dave

  8. #8
    Potential Petrologist
    Join Date
    Dec 2005
    Location
    Eastern Edge, Basin and Range Province
    Age
    24
    Posts
    734
    Might want to check if your appdata folder or one of the Flight program folders has managed to switch ownership or become write-protected. Errors writing logfiles might also prompt a warning like that.
    "Wherefore, if ye shall press forward, feasting upon the word of Christ, and endure to the end, behold, thus saith the Father: Ye shall have eternal life." - 2 Nephi 31:20

    Mormon.org

  9. #9
    Quote Originally Posted by EMatheson View Post
    Might want to check if your appdata folder or one of the Flight program folders has managed to switch ownership or become write-protected. Errors writing logfiles might also prompt a warning like that.
    How do I check for that?
    Cheers,
    Dave

  10. #10
    Have you tried to "Repair FLIGHT" ?

    Control Panel -> Programs -> Uninstall a program ->
    Craig

    Computer specs:
    Intel i5 2500k @4.5 GHz
    Gigabyte GeForce GTX 780
    16GB Corsair Vengance
    Asus P8Z68-V Pro
    Corsair H80 Liquid Cooler
    Corsair R500 Case
    Seventeam 850W modular power supply
    1 TB dedicated Hyrid drive for P3D V1.4 & 2
    750 GB Hyrid drive for Windows 7 64 Ultimate

  11. #11
    Quote Originally Posted by full View Post
    Have you tried to "Repair FLIGHT" ?

    Control Panel -> Programs -> Uninstall a program ->

    The only option it provides is to remove. The repair option is greyed out.
    Cheers,
    Dave

  12. #12
    Thanks for the help here folks, it's really appreciated!

    I ended up removing Flight, was able to contact MS by phone and will be issued a refund for the Hawaii Adventure Pack (the young lady I talked to was very nice). I'm going to wait until Flight is a bit more mature before trying it again. Seems like there's some issues the Flight team needs to address before it's ready for prime time. Too bad, as it's really visually stunning - and when I could get it to run it was great.

    Gee, go figure, another MS product rushed to the marketplace.

    PS: Good thing FSX runs so nice on my rebuilt system.
    Cheers,
    Dave

  13. #13
    Members +
    Join Date
    Dec 2009
    Location
    "BONE YARD" Gulf Coast Fla.
    Age
    82
    Posts
    1,283
    My repair option is not greyed out...It starts ,then stops with this , GAMES.msi not being found. Whats that???....until the now many growing questions are explored,answered,...the ritual of TRAIL and ERROR,,..I for one will not be a TEST PILOT...
    In the mean time...FLIGHT is a Great Game,and a keeper!!...who knows like with most games..some enterprising nerd will find Cheat codes...They all do it seems.!.....the faster one" DE -GAMES FLIGHT" ,the better "Sim" it becomes!.Great Frame Rates,SMOOTH FLIGHT,,..so far,wonderful Scenery......Alaska will make it far more appealing,and then will "OVER THERE" be not too far behind???...HAVE FUN...Vin!

  14. #14
    Charter Member 09
    Join Date
    Jul 2005
    Location
    Newburyport, Massachusetts
    Age
    86
    Posts
    1,385
    I've had a similar experience. First off it wouldn't see my mouse. I changed mice. No difference. So I reloaded my mouse driver, still no luck. Finally I got it to play but as soon as I put up the gear, the computer quit on me. I put in another version of Flight and sure enough, when I put the gear up, everything turned black.
    I believe it has to do with running Windows 7 - 64 Bit. I can't believe Microsoft would put something out this bad. They should have spent more on software and never mind the publicity.
    Would you like to ride in my big green tractor?.

  15. #15
    Helldiver I find that microsoft flight works great on my system using vista ultimate 64bit. I love the water textures and just the overall look of this game. Flight to me is a winner especially comparing fps with fsx. Helldiver I did upgrade my video card drivers just before installing flight.

  16. #16
    Flight runs perfectly well on Win7 - 64bit here. Smooth as silk, no stutters, high settings and it is more fun than a human should be allowed to have.
    Tom Constantine
    -------------------
    TOH Forums
    http://mainescenery.proboards.com/

  17. #17
    Members +
    Join Date
    Dec 2009
    Location
    "BONE YARD" Gulf Coast Fla.
    Age
    82
    Posts
    1,283
    Quote Originally Posted by Overshoe View Post
    Flight runs perfectly well on Win7 - 64bit here. Smooth as silk, no stutters, high settings and it is more fun than a human should be allowed to have.

    Yes Of Course It does!...Beautifully!...This along with my CH YOKE and PEDALS! Only Potential Problem is" ME",...Other than that,...MAN ,FLIGHT IS GREAT FUN!!...Vin

  18. #18
    Charter Member 09
    Join Date
    Jul 2005
    Location
    Newburyport, Massachusetts
    Age
    86
    Posts
    1,385
    It may be true for you but I haven't enjoyed your experince. In spite of defragging my computer, running the latest video driver and loading FLIGHT in now three times. I still have no mouse and as soon as I hit "G" to raise the gear, it shuts the computer right down.
    I'm giving up on Microsoft FLIGHT.
    Would you like to ride in my big green tractor?.

Similar Threads

  1. The first add-on for Microsoft Flight
    By beana51 in forum MS Flight
    Replies: 3
    Last Post: April 29th, 2012, 10:33
  2. Almost new Microsoft Flight Sim
    By NachtPiloten in forum CFS3 General Discussion
    Replies: 6
    Last Post: August 18th, 2010, 23:22
  3. Corrupted Flight Planner!?!
    By chrisf36 in forum FS 2002/2004 General Discussion
    Replies: 2
    Last Post: April 2nd, 2009, 14:17

Members who have read this thread: 1

Bookmarks

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •