Painting aircraft

Thread: Painting aircraft

Painting aircraft

Ok, I am a newbie in aircraft painting. I make a texture of a part, say a fuselage in FSDS and take the texture into GIMP 2 and try to paint the thing. Sometimes I use FS repaint to make sure the paintjob is where it is supposed to be.

Here is the question: How the heck do i paint smooth curves in Gimp 2? This is what I found: the smallest dot I can paint is a pixel so if the canvas size is 512*512 pixels, curves look piecewise linear, i.e., they are not smooth. In GIMP I can blow up the canvas to 1024*1024 and paint a "smoother" curve using the "Paths" utility, but they are still not totally smooth. The obvious answer is blow up the canvas size even more, say 2048*2048 pixels, but is there an easier way?

Thanks guys,Sid

MSPaint can be the same way. Inside FS, those sharp pixelated angles are softened by the anti-aliasing function. In graphics apps, I doubt they use that terminology, so look for some sort of "softening" or "blurring" brush or filter. I've never used Gimp, so I don't know if it has that capability. You may need another piece of software to do the softening after doing the initial artwork in Gimp.
    Thermaltake H570 TG Tower
    X670 Aorus Elite AX motherboard
    AMD Ryzen 9 7900X 12-Core Processor
    NVIDIA GeForce RTX 3070
    NZXT Kraken X cooler
    32GB DDR5 RAM
    750 Watt PS
    Windows 11 Home

Quote Originally Posted by Tom Clayton View Post
    Inside FS, those sharp pixelated angles are softened by the anti-aliasing function. In graphics apps, I doubt they use that terminology...
    That's exactly the word!
    Dunno if it works with GIMP, but my PaintShopProX allows anti-aliasing, leading to pixels of various opacities (but with the same colour).