Issues with CFS2 new install

Thread: Issues with CFS2 new install

RAF_Swede

Icon5 Issues with CFS2 new install

Heya Guys..

Haven't been around here in quite some time, glad to see CFS2 is still used.

Well I've been playing around with CFS2 since 2000 and have never run into the problems I'm having now...And I have had just about every 3rd party add-on available at one time or another and never had any real serious problems.

I recently re-formatted my HD and updated XP to SP3. Have updated to .NET4. I just rolled back my nvidia driver back to a 85. series driver thinking the newer drivers might not know what to do with an old game, but that wasn't it.

I have tried uninstalling ad-aware, spybot and avast and reinstalling, not that either..

Basically the problems are;
    Can't use 3rd party aircraft in QC as the game will lock up. The stock planes are fine.

The joystick settings will not keep. I can't 'reverse' an axis and I cannot delete settings. I have deleted the config files in the root folder but still I can't config the joystick the way I have in the past. Tried 'saving' to a profile, no luck.

This is the first time I have run into this kind of thing with CFS2.. really wierd. Oh, CFS1 works just fine also.

Il-2 1946 4.09m works fine.

FS2004 works fine.

Does this sound familiar to anyone??

Thanks for any help

XP Home SP3 32
    2.4 AMD 64 Processor
    Albatron K8T800 Main Board
    250Gb HD NTFS
    1.5 Gb RAM
    GForce 7800 GS
    NVIDIA Driver Version 196.21 Version 4.00.1381.9621
    Samsung 24" SyncMaster Monitor

Saitek X52 Joystick

Welcome to the basement, I'm sure someone more "expert" than I will be along soon ...

I have WIN XP SP3 on dual core processor, Nvidia 7600GS & run without too much trouble, so these sound like configuration issues.

I use a Logitech Etreme 3D pro joystick, & that never holds it's calibration - it's niggle, but you adapt. Assume it's similar issue with the Saiteck