Results 1 to 12 of 12

Thread: Active Sky V6.5 and FSX

  1. #1
    Charter Member 2014 falcon409's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jun 2005
    Location
    KGYI_Sherman, Tx.
    Age
    67
    Posts
    8,731
    Blog Entries
    2

    Active Sky V6.5 and FSX

    I have read that this works with FSX, but I'm unable to find any clearcut instructions on installation. Is anyone using this, and if so, can you give me a brief run down on "how-to"?

  2. #2
    I was using AS6.5 when FSX first came out, transferring over from FS9. I continued to use it all the way up until ASA was released.

    I don't recall having to do anything other than just install it the same way I had been doing in FS9 to get it into FSX.

    It's been a long time and I may be wrong but.....
    1. I believe that you have to have FSUIPC installed first.

    2. Portions of AS6.5 stop working when you use it in FSX. Active Sky
    Graphics is one that shuts down and I'm pretty sure something else
    stopped working. They were parts that weren't compatible with FSX.

    FAC

  3. #3
    MCDesigns
    Guest
    Can't remember if I did anything special to set it up, but that is what I am using.

  4. #4
    JSkorna
    Guest
    Hi,

    1. Install AS outside of FSX.

    2. Make sure FSUIPC4 is installed.

    3. Can't use ASG or Active Radar.

    Thanks!

  5. #5
    harleyman
    Guest
    YUP...And it works great too!

  6. #6
    Charter Member 2012
    Join Date
    Oct 2005
    Location
    Ringgold, Virginia, United States
    Age
    67
    Posts
    5,077
    It works fine, but just as in FS9, I find AS 6.5 just does not cut the mustard on accurate readings. Neither does REX 2.0 or REX-2004. I still find Jepperson to be the most accurate (most of the time) and that is what I use for real-weather. None of the other two got the snow line right during the previous snow storm but Jepperson.

    Caz

  7. #7
    I'd recommend upgrading to Active Sky Advanced (ASA). I've never had any issues with it or FSX together.
    I feel it is very accurate, and it is capable of depicting hurricanes, for example. I like the interface better too.

    On a recent flight to Rapid City during the blizzards, FSX was showing light winter seasonal conditions with winter and fall textures.
    ASA very effectively switched it to full blizzard conditions with heavy winter effects.

    The second shot was arriving at KRAP around dusk.
    "No, I'm not a good shot, but I shoot often." - Theodore "Teddy" Roosevelt

  8. #8
    JSkorna
    Guest
    To set the record straight: the actual weather does not set the snow line in FS04 or FSX. There is a season file that does this. You can make it snow in Hawaii in July and ground textures will not turn white. You can make it 75 degrees in Duluth in January and the ground textures will not turn green. So please don't link snow lines and weather programs together.

    I would also like to see some concrete examples of Active Sky weather being inaccurate compared to NOAA and Jepp. Then we'll see who cuts the mustard or not.

    Thanks,

  9. #9
    Quote Originally Posted by JSkorna View Post
    To set the record straight: the actual weather does not set the snow line in FS04 or FSX. There is a season file that does this. You can make it snow in Hawaii in July and ground textures will not turn white. You can make it 75 degrees in Duluth in January and the ground textures will not turn green. So please don't link snow lines and weather programs together.

    Thanks,
    Jim, I never said ASA did directly, but I know it went from fall to winter in some areas based on the data given to FSX by ASA. So excuse my apparently poor description.

    Sorry Sir, I was actually trying to help promote your product, but based on this response, I'll have second doubts about ever doing that again. Good day.
    "No, I'm not a good shot, but I shoot often." - Theodore "Teddy" Roosevelt

  10. #10
    JSkorna
    Guest
    Hi Dain,

    Please understand I wasn't reacting to you, but to the poster above you who is misinformed!! I have no problems with what you posted at all. I should have made myself clearer in my post!!

    Peace!

  11. #11
    Quote Originally Posted by JSkorna View Post
    Hi Dain,

    Please understand I wasn't reacting to you, but to the poster above you who is misinformed!! I have no problems with what you posted at all. I should have made myself clearer in my post!!

    Peace!
    Hugs then, Jim! (In a strictly platonic and manly way of course)
    "No, I'm not a good shot, but I shoot often." - Theodore "Teddy" Roosevelt

  12. #12
    JSkorna
    Guest
    Cazzie,

    My hot-dog is getting cold! Any mustard yet?

Similar Threads

  1. Still Active
    By minuteman10 in forum CFS1 General Discussion
    Replies: 3
    Last Post: November 7th, 2010, 15:46
  2. REX vs Active Sky
    By racartron in forum FS 2002/2004 General Discussion
    Replies: 3
    Last Post: September 6th, 2010, 07:31
  3. Active Camera gone under?
    By phantomx1 in forum FS 2002/2004 General Discussion
    Replies: 8
    Last Post: August 21st, 2010, 22:36
  4. Active Sky issue
    By LouP in forum FS 2002/2004 General Discussion
    Replies: 5
    Last Post: August 30th, 2009, 18:34
  5. Active Sky X
    By Pepere in forum FSX General Discussion
    Replies: 13
    Last Post: October 29th, 2008, 18:46

Members who have read this thread: 0

Bookmarks

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •