Results 1 to 9 of 9

Thread: A nice freeware PBY-5a Cat

  1. #1

    A nice freeware PBY-5a Cat

    Downloaded this Cat a while back when I was using Xplane 8, but it works fine in Xplane 9.









    Get it at;

    http://xhydros.free.fr/

    A couple of other nice freebies there too.

  2. #2
    SOH-CM-2014
    Join Date
    Jul 2005
    Location
    The land where dust is manufactured and people are high temp tested!
    Age
    52
    Posts
    12,310
    Nice PBY!

    Thanks for the screenshots on that.




    Bill
    Humble Poly bender and warrior of Vertices


    Alienware Console i7 3770 CPU 3.40 GHz / 16 Gigs of RAM / GTX660 GC w/2 Gigs of VRAM / Windows 7 64 Ultimate
    Running 3X Samsung 840 SSD HD's, 200 Gig each, 500/500 Read/Write

  3. #3
    Great pics! Too bad they didn't add a few more textures to that vc.

    Jim

  4. #4
    SOH-CM-2014
    Join Date
    Jul 2005
    Location
    The land where dust is manufactured and people are high temp tested!
    Age
    52
    Posts
    12,310
    Jim,

    I was thinking that same thing.

    One could go in and totally improve that panel texture if its not super small.

    I have been wanting to experiment with the texture sizes. I wonder if they can go 2048 in size, (perhaps they dont have limitations... )

    If so, that thing could become ultra detailed. It would be high on frames, but it would be one heck of a lot nicer in details.


    One of the issues in making planes for XP9 is total number of textures allowed. I think its 5 or 7, (havent found out yet).

    Austin (CEO of XP9) had told me that texture numbers of the planes were made to keep frame rates smooth and fast. That may be why FS became so low in frame rates was texture counts alone. Numbers of 75 textures for a FSX plane are not uncommon, while XP9 averages 3 to 7.

    Makes you think...


    But, that Cat would sure be nice with some more nicer, subtle detail... Wouldnt it?



    Bill
    Humble Poly bender and warrior of Vertices


    Alienware Console i7 3770 CPU 3.40 GHz / 16 Gigs of RAM / GTX660 GC w/2 Gigs of VRAM / Windows 7 64 Ultimate
    Running 3X Samsung 840 SSD HD's, 200 Gig each, 500/500 Read/Write

  5. #5
    Outtas curiosity I bumped the panel pgn for the texan from 1024x1024 up to 1600x1600. It rendered in the sim but the gauge faces were missplaced both in the 2d panel and the VC. Seems it uses the same pgn for both.

    Buy I am gonna assume that so long as you are building and textureing a vc you can go larger on the texture maps.

    I am on the right track as to what was being discussed?
    Lol' i'm just a fiddler in this stuff, I don't realy know nuttin

  6. #6
    SOH-CM-2014
    Join Date
    Jul 2005
    Location
    The land where dust is manufactured and people are high temp tested!
    Age
    52
    Posts
    12,310
    Quote Originally Posted by CH_OldZeke View Post
    Outtas curiosity I bumped the panel pgn for the texan from 1024x1024 up to 1600x1600. It rendered in the sim but the gauge faces were missplaced both in the 2d panel and the VC. Seems it uses the same pgn for both.

    Buy I am gonna assume that so long as you are building and textureing a vc you can go larger on the texture maps.

    I am on the right track as to what was being discussed?
    Lol' i'm just a fiddler in this stuff, I don't realy know nuttin

    Thanks Zeke for the info. Good to know.

    They must use pixel sizes then for X,Y locations for gauges just like in FS. We would have to adjust the gauge layouts if redoing the sizes of the textures on the panels.


    Bill
    Humble Poly bender and warrior of Vertices


    Alienware Console i7 3770 CPU 3.40 GHz / 16 Gigs of RAM / GTX660 GC w/2 Gigs of VRAM / Windows 7 64 Ultimate
    Running 3X Samsung 840 SSD HD's, 200 Gig each, 500/500 Read/Write

  7. #7
    Members +
    Join Date
    Nov 2005
    Location
    New Castle, Delaware
    Age
    64
    Posts
    4,860
    You guys go fiddlin with textures for X-Plane's toys and someone could get upset. Especially when you out do the X-Plane old timers. But IMHO... it serves them right. They shoulda done a better job right from the start.... or taken lessons from you guys and what you've all done with the FS series. :d
    Gary - Delaware Ventilation - A cooler attic will save you money. No electricity needed!
    [SIGPIC][/SIGPIC]
    Goundcrew Member - Warbirds of Delaware KILG - Member 7G Club
    Member of the War Eagles Air Museum Santa Teresa, NM
    KILG Tour Coordinator and Member of Collings Foundation Stowe, Mass
    Mid Atlantic Air Museum Reading, PA.

  8. #8
    Bill, I'm a xplane noob but i think you may be able to re place the gauges within the sim....I just remembed that while fiddlin in the aircraft folders (select aircraft....opens a folder tree) I remeber it had some sort of gauge placement dealy.

    Darn now I gonna have to fire it up and see

  9. #9
    SOH-CM-2014
    Join Date
    Jul 2005
    Location
    The land where dust is manufactured and people are high temp tested!
    Age
    52
    Posts
    12,310
    Quote Originally Posted by CH_OldZeke View Post
    Bill, I'm a xplane noob but i think you may be able to re place the gauges within the sim....I just remembed that while fiddlin in the aircraft folders (select aircraft....opens a folder tree) I remeber it had some sort of gauge placement dealy.

    Darn now I gonna have to fire it up and see

    Its addictive and fun to see how they work, isnt it, lol....


    I found out that PRF files are the same as FS Config files. Just open them with Notepad and they are pretty simple to read through and adjust.



    Bill
    Humble Poly bender and warrior of Vertices


    Alienware Console i7 3770 CPU 3.40 GHz / 16 Gigs of RAM / GTX660 GC w/2 Gigs of VRAM / Windows 7 64 Ultimate
    Running 3X Samsung 840 SSD HD's, 200 Gig each, 500/500 Read/Write

Similar Threads

  1. a nice freeware improvement
    By norab in forum Prepar3D
    Replies: 13
    Last Post: May 24th, 2012, 06:18
  2. Nice freeware KingAir 200
    By JimC1702 in forum FSX General Discussion
    Replies: 39
    Last Post: April 13th, 2012, 11:18
  3. Nice freeware scenery!
    By Cactuskid in forum FSX General Discussion
    Replies: 4
    Last Post: February 5th, 2009, 10:44
  4. Nice freeware tool
    By hey_moe in forum Toy Room
    Replies: 3
    Last Post: November 25th, 2008, 10:35
  5. ANother nice freeware airport.....
    By skyhawka4m in forum FS 2002/2004 General Discussion
    Replies: 4
    Last Post: September 27th, 2008, 11:39

Members who have read this thread: 0

Bookmarks

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •