setclass
Contribute Now
Goal amount for this year: 10000 USD, Received: 7,025.00 USD (70%)
Welcome Back, Unregistered     Today's Date:       Current Time: 

Please Support the SOH "2020 Charter Membership Drive"




Accepted Payment Types

Page 1 of 3 123 LastLast
Results 1 to 25 of 57

Thread: setclass

  1. #1

    setclass

    Hi all,

    As I am installing CFS1 on my new laptop I would like to "update" my classlist so I can land on water. I try to use setclass, but it tells me that it cannot find my installed CFS1, though it is installed as C:/Program Files (I have it installed on both (= normal and (x86))/Microsoft Games/Combat Flight Simulator (also tried Combat Flight Simulator 1).

    Suggestions what to do so setclass finds my CFS1 are much appreciated.

    Regards,

    hertzie.

  2. #2
    SOH-CM-2019 hubbabubba's Avatar
    Join Date
    Sep 2005
    Location
    Montréal, Québec, Canada
    Age
    63
    Posts
    1,015
    Hello hertzie

    After half an hour combing my old disc, I finally found "Classlists.zip" file from smilo = Classlists.zip

    All that you need to know to install is in the "ReadThis.txt".

    I'm sure smilo would have done it if he had seen your post first. Too late smilo...

    Have fun and, if you have a minute or two, tell us how CFS1 behaves on your OS, and what OS it is.
    Torture numbers and they'll say anything.


    Hubbabubba, Touche à tout.

  3. #3
    Hi Hubbabubba, nice to hear YOU did find the zip-file, but I didn't, so please be so kind to let me know where I can find it or send me the txt-file by pm please.

    I bought a second-hand Dell precision M6700 laptop, it has an I7 3610QM processor and an AMD Radeon HD 7800M series videocard. And I run Win7 Professional. After using the Win7-fix I found on SimV CFS1 works great, only 2 panels so far were black. As I am retired and spending the winter here on Lanzarote I copied all the old CFS1-stuff I could find in my old libraries on an extra laptop-hd and now in the evenings I'm installing all that stuff and see if I can get things working. One of my other problems is that none of my missions do work, I only get the message that my mission-file is corrupted, even when I change nothing in the plane and put the mission right in the mission-folder.

    Any suggestions about that?

    And yes, CFS1 is still fun to fly.

    Cheers, hertzie

  4. #4
    SOH Staff
    Join Date
    Jul 2005
    Location
    State of Confusion..... -8GMT
    Posts
    3,770
    i don't know what the problem is,
    but, i am unable to download
    the classlist.zip file hubba posted above.
    i'll blame it on windows 7...i hates it.
    when i click on the zip, i
    download a PHP file
    which is of no use.
    i am also unable to locate the file
    at the old online locations.
    all that said, i will not be thwarted.
    i'll fire up my old machine
    and dig out a copy for you.

    *hubba, if you see this,
    please email a copy of the zip to me.
    sometimes the magic works.
    sometimes it doesn't.

  5. #5
    Hi Smilo, Hertzie,

    I actually had no problem downloading and opening the file in the link.
    It shows up as Attachment.Zip, but seems to have the contents it should.
    I don't have CFS installed on this laptop, so no way to test whether it works or not.
    Smilo, I can email it to you if you need.... Heck, I will just email it to you anyway.
    Hertzie, I can email it to you also but you would need to post your email address or email me.

    - Ivan1GFP@yahoo.com

  6. #6
    SOH Staff
    Join Date
    Jul 2005
    Location
    State of Confusion..... -8GMT
    Posts
    3,770
    yes, Ivan, please email the classlist.zip to me.
    i will send my address in a moment.
    after i receive it, i'll recheck it
    and send it to Dave.
    hopefully, he will upload it to my freeflight page.

    i just tried to attach the "concrete" classlist.bgl,
    but, apparently, soh doesn't want me to.
    so it goes.

    ~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~

    i just noticed that you've already email the file.
    thank you, Sir
    let's see if i can attach it to this post.
    Attached Files Attached Files
    sometimes the magic works.
    sometimes it doesn't.

  7. #7
    SOH-CM-2019 hubbabubba's Avatar
    Join Date
    Sep 2005
    Location
    Montréal, Québec, Canada
    Age
    63
    Posts
    1,015
    Welll...

    The worst problem that you can have is a problem that you can't reproduce.

    I did check that my download was working when I posted, and just rechecked after reading the thread, and I had no problem whatsoever!

    BTW- smilo; your d/l does work as well .

    As for your "corrupted mission" Hertzie, likewise alas, I don't have that issue, so I can't be of any assistance.

    This is one of these day when you feel useless...
    Torture numbers and they'll say anything.


    Hubbabubba, Touche à tout.

  8. #8
    SOH Staff
    Join Date
    Jul 2005
    Location
    State of Confusion..... -8GMT
    Posts
    3,770
    "hubbabubba useless"
    there's a news flash.
    sorry, old friend, i think not.

    if you would like a real chuckle,
    i can't download my own upload.
    hilarious
    like i said above, it's probably W7,
    or possibly a security setting.
    what ever the case,
    it's a pain in the a$$.

    sorry, hertzie, i too am unable
    to assist you with your missions issue.
    sometimes the magic works.
    sometimes it doesn't.

  9. #9
    SOH-CM-2019 hubbabubba's Avatar
    Join Date
    Sep 2005
    Location
    Montréal, Québec, Canada
    Age
    63
    Posts
    1,015
    I'm using W7 Family Ed. Premium with Service Pack 1.

    I'm tempted to plug the "curb reject" under XP just to have a look...

    In the meantime, smilo, ask your buddies at SOH, they may know something we don't...

    Hertzie, try smilo's link. If all fails, send me an e-mail through my profile with your own e-mail. A PM would be a lost of time since it would repeat the same attachment you can't get to.
    (that is if I knew how to send an attachment by PM

    smilo, your Classlists.Zip was included in your Arado. Is it in the CFS1 downloads? Can't find it myself...
    Torture numbers and they'll say anything.


    Hubbabubba, Touche à tout.

  10. #10
    Hi guys,

    You're GREAT, both of you!!! I managed to download the zip and open it and I think it has all the necessary things I need. Will read it carefully tonight and let you know what comes out.

    Again, MANY THANKS FOR ALL THE HELP & ADVICE!!!!! And yes, Win7 is sometimes a pain in the ass, but have you ever tried Win10???

    About the missions, I wished I had my original disk with me, then I could do a fresh install, but I think that has to wait till the end of february, when I'm back home.

    And I think I will come up with some more questions, like: can you put a pilot in the dp. ? Why is my 2D-panel glass black, but when I do esc. or shift+F10, the panel is see-through ? And does CFS1 has somewhere as payload a torpedo ?

    Yeah guys, you see what kid of stupid questions a newbee can ask ;-) . But if you don't ask, you'll never know, isn't it?

    Cheers, hertzie.

  11. #11
    SOH Staff
    Join Date
    Jul 2005
    Location
    State of Confusion..... -8GMT
    Posts
    3,770
    hello hertzie,
    first and foremost,
    the only stupid question
    is the one that isn't asked.
    one of the things that first drew me to SOH
    is written at the top of the SOH Forum page,
    "Let Being Helpful Be More Important Than Being Right!"
    need i say more?...not likely, certainly, not better.

    okay, about the classlist.zip file,
    within are several classlist.bgl files.
    they are each labeled for the type of surface.
    back in the day, hubba and i did extensive testing
    on each to find smoothness of surface
    and the drag caused by said smoothness.
    granted, the bumpy surfaces, ie, grass,
    were closer to actual wave conditions,
    but, at the time, we were looking for more speed
    for hubba's ships. concrete, obviously, is smoothest and fastest.
    in the end, i can only suggest testing them for yourself
    and choosing which best suits your needs.
    at this point, it is important to mention Bill Potvin,
    the creator of the setclass program.
    without him, this would not have been possible.

    as for torpedoes, i'm sorry to say no...not available.
    hubba and i also worked on this one.
    we couldn't even get timed rockets to work.
    understand, we were working with ships in multi-player.
    the closest we came was using rockets .
    fired from a ship at sea level.
    we figured out the range of impact
    and, actually , had some success in online sea battles.

    in my limited experience with missions,
    they became corrupted when a scenery,
    scenery object or aircraft...something
    called for in the mission file, was not
    in it's proper location within cfs.
    if an original cfs mission fails to open,
    a new install of cfs should solve the issue.
    an add on mission is another story.

    about your black panel glass,
    is it a stock panel or add on?
    this was a common problem
    that we had an easy fix for.
    problem is, it's been a long time
    and i don't remember...old man's disease.
    maybe hubba can remember.
    if not, i'll research and try to answer later.

    well, sir, as you can plainly see,
    i'm an old wind bag.
    fair warning...don't get me started.
    ooops, too late.
    sometimes the magic works.
    sometimes it doesn't.

  12. #12
    SOH-CM-2019 hubbabubba's Avatar
    Join Date
    Sep 2005
    Location
    Montréal, Québec, Canada
    Age
    63
    Posts
    1,015
    Hi hertzie

    smilo did a fine job , and I will only pick the ball where he left it.

    - adding pilots through dp;
    no, this is a CFS2 feature. In CFS1, dp files only permit guns, cannons, rockets and bombs. (no torpedoes, but smilo already told you that......);

    - black windows;
    the best thing is to go read HERE what "The Old Lair" had to say about that. In fact, I will probably go back there and make a PDF of the entire section for safe keeping (that stuff is W95 era!!!)

    That should cover what smilo left.

    On a side-note; I downloaded Classlits.zip link without a glitch through Firefox and Google Chrome browser. With Explorer, I got an "Attachment.php" but just changing the php for a zip was all I needed to open it. I also used a Java-console downloader callled JDownloader and it worked well.

    Asking a question, btw, is rarely a sign of stupidity. Not asking a question when you don't know the answer is.
    Torture numbers and they'll say anything.


    Hubbabubba, Touche à tout.

  13. #13
    Hi guys,yes I can land on water!! Yippee! My Catalina does well. Have a nasty computervirus, so this goes by tablet. Hope it reaches you. Thanks again for help and advice. Will come back asap. Regards hertzie

  14. #14
    SOH Staff
    Join Date
    Jul 2005
    Location
    State of Confusion..... -8GMT
    Posts
    3,770
    glad to hear, it works.
    unhappy to hear about the virus.

    have fun with cfs.
    hurry back
    sometimes the magic works.
    sometimes it doesn't.

  15. #15
    Hi Hertzie,

    Post a screenshot of your Catalina. I might be able to help you out.

    - Ivan.

  16. #16
    SOH Staff
    Join Date
    Jul 2005
    Location
    State of Confusion..... -8GMT
    Posts
    3,770
    hubba, what was that combatfs.cfg
    modification we use to do to fix panels?
    also, by chance do you have a copy
    of the old aac essentials.zip?
    sometimes the magic works.
    sometimes it doesn't.

  17. #17
    SOH-CM-2019 hubbabubba's Avatar
    Join Date
    Sep 2005
    Location
    Montréal, Québec, Canada
    Age
    63
    Posts
    1,015
    Quote Originally Posted by smilo View Post
    hubba, what was that combatfs.cfg
    modification we use to do to fix panels?
    also, by chance do you have a copy
    of the old aac essentials.zip?
    It is in the Doug Attrell (Grumpy's Lair) link in my previous post, smilo.

    But, just for you:

    PANEL_MASKING_OFF=0 (if not at 0, make it so)

    Send me an email with what essentials you're looking for and I will do my best to send them to you.
    I have many AAC-related files and CFS files. Just give me a "shopping list" or an idea of what you're
    looking for.
    Torture numbers and they'll say anything.


    Hubbabubba, Touche à tout.

  18. #18
    SOH Staff
    Join Date
    Jul 2005
    Location
    State of Confusion..... -8GMT
    Posts
    3,770
    wow, that was quick...thank you.

    to be honest, i don't remember
    what all was in the essentials file.
    i do remember there was some good stuff
    that may be helpful to others.

    i'll be gone for a few days
    and will search my old machines for it
    when i return
    sometimes the magic works.
    sometimes it doesn't.

  19. #19
    Hey guys, again my thanks and again: you're great! Especially that one-pixel solution works wonderful. I now have a DC3 I can fly as it should with 2 different 2d-panels which aren't black anymore! Great! Will start working now on my "mission-problem".

    Keep in touch, hertzie.

  20. #20
    SOH-CM-2019 hubbabubba's Avatar
    Join Date
    Sep 2005
    Location
    Montréal, Québec, Canada
    Age
    63
    Posts
    1,015
    Quote Originally Posted by hertzie View Post
    Hey guys, again my thanks and again: you're great! Especially that one-pixel solution works wonderful. I now have a DC3 I can fly as it should with 2 different 2d-panels which aren't black anymore! Great! Will start working now on my "mission-problem".

    Keep in touch, hertzie.
    We're glad to be of some assistance, hertzie.

    On my own panel, I always make it a 2x2 pixels, why? Simply because the rendering may vary from one resolution to another. So if you ever have a panel that is still black (or whatever color) after a 1x1 pixel tweak, try a 2x2.

    Concerning your "corrupted" missions, chances are, like smilo said, that your problem lies with a missing scenery, object in scenery, or aircraft. CFS1 is not very accommodating with that. Good luck and good patience (you'll need it).
    Torture numbers and they'll say anything.


    Hubbabubba, Touche à tout.

  21. #21
    Hi guys, again many thanks, now for the suggestions how to "repair" my mission-files. Putting in the proper names or renaming does the job! I do have now about 15 missions working, will do the rest the coming evenings.

    Next question is: has anyone of you ever tried to get CFS2 textures working in CFS1? If I "rework" a CFS2 plane the textures are see-through cq invisible. Suggestions welcome.

    Cheers, hertzie.

  22. #22
    SOH Staff
    Join Date
    Jul 2005
    Location
    State of Confusion..... -8GMT
    Posts
    3,770
    simple answer...no, sorry.

    the reason, cfs1 only recognizes 256 colors maximum,
    cfs2, i believe, 512.

    at least, that's what i recall.
    sometimes the magic works.
    sometimes it doesn't.

  23. #23
    SOH-CM-2019 hubbabubba's Avatar
    Join Date
    Sep 2005
    Location
    Montréal, Québec, Canada
    Age
    63
    Posts
    1,015
    Quote Originally Posted by smilo View Post
    simple answer...no, sorry.

    the reason, cfs1 only recognizes 256 colors maximum,
    cfs2, i believe, 512.

    at least, that's what i recall.

    If it is the problem, smilo, a simple solution to a simple answer to a simple problem may be possible (still with me ?);

    1-Open the the CFS2 texture and resize it to a maximum 256x256 pixels;
    2-Reduce the palette to 256 colors;
    3-Save.
    All that can be done with Saint Paint, previously mentionned.
    If you have transparencies and multi-resolution issues, use BMP2000.

    Or, just for fun, send me a set of these textures and I will do it for you. Painting programs are the only things saved and re-installed since my crash.
    Torture numbers and they'll say anything.


    Hubbabubba, Touche à tout.

  24. #24
    SOH-CM-2019 hubbabubba's Avatar
    Join Date
    Sep 2005
    Location
    Montréal, Québec, Canada
    Age
    63
    Posts
    1,015
    I have received an e-mail from hertzie that implies that my solution worked.

    He wanted me to show him the ropes but, as that information could help other, I told him that I would make a short n' sweet tutorial for all to see here in its own thread.

    So, stay tuned and, No Dice, a html will soon follow...

    Stay tuned
    Torture numbers and they'll say anything.


    Hubbabubba, Touche à tout.

  25. #25
    SOH Staff
    Join Date
    Jul 2005
    Location
    State of Confusion..... -8GMT
    Posts
    3,770
    i, for one, look forward to it, hubba.
    especially, the pallet reduction part.
    sometimes the magic works.
    sometimes it doesn't.

Members who have read this thread: 0

Bookmarks

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •