Ready to take the plunge into FSX - Page 2
Contribute Now
Goal amount for this year: 10000 USD, Received: 10,500.00 USD (105%)
Welcome Back, Unregistered     Today's Date:       Current Time: 

Please Support the SOH "2020 Charter Membership Drive"




Accepted Payment Types

Page 2 of 3 FirstFirst 123 LastLast
Results 26 to 50 of 60

Thread: Ready to take the plunge into FSX

  1. #26
    SOH Staff txnetcop's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jun 2005
    Location
    Wentzville, MO
    Age
    70
    Posts
    5,242
    Blog Entries
    1
    Quote Originally Posted by Duckie View Post
    Ted, re your item no. 2.




    Ted, I apologize if I'm not making myself clear.

    Here's my problem. I'm out of internal SATA receptacles on my mobo. If I get an SSD, I have to find/create an open SATA receptacle for the SSD or use an open PCIe slot. So, back to my questions above:

    1. Can I use a PCIe slot type SSD and is there a reason I should or shouldn't use this type SSD?
    OK, after trolling for a week I finally found a straight answer for this one, NO!

    2. Or, can I use one of the external SATA mobo receptacles (unplug the external) and use that internal SATA receptacle for the SSD?


    Thanks,
    Steve
    let me check the P6T SE board and see what speeds all the SATAs work at you can also get a single to dual SATA cable at a computer store
    Vivat Christus Rex! Ad maiorem Dei gloriam

  2. #27
    SOH-CM-2020 Duckie's Avatar
    Join Date
    May 2009
    Location
    Fayetteville, Georgia, USA
    Age
    71
    Posts
    2,670
    Quote Originally Posted by txnetcop View Post
    let me check the P6T SE board and see what speeds all the SATAs work at you can also get a single to dual SATA cable at a computer store
    I believe all the onboard SATA are SATA II. And after further exploration of my mobo and case connections I do have a SATA that I can disconnect from the case eSATA that I don't use that can be available for the SSD.

    Generates another question that you are already checking on (I think). Since my mobo is SATA II will it still be advantageous to use the SSD?
    Duckie

    "I hate to see you go, but I love to watch you leave!"

    Win7 Home Prem.; ASUS P6TSE; Intel i7 960 (OC 4.0GHz); 12GB Corsair Vengeance DDR3 1600; Sapphire Radeon Dual-X R9 270 2GB GDDR5; ViewSonic 24" VX2433wm; FSX Drive Dedicated Samsung EVO 840 SSD 250GB

    My SOH Downloads: http://www.sim-outhouse.com/sohforum...d=79620&sort=d

  3. #28
    SOH Staff txnetcop's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jun 2005
    Location
    Wentzville, MO
    Age
    70
    Posts
    5,242
    Blog Entries
    1
    Quote Originally Posted by Duckie View Post
    I believe all the onboard SATA are SATA II. And after further exploration of my mobo and case connections I do have a SATA that I can disconnect from the case eSATA that I don't use that can be available for the SSD.

    Generates another question that you are already checking on (I think). Since my mobo is SATA II will it still be advantageous to use the SSD?
    yep it will...
    Vivat Christus Rex! Ad maiorem Dei gloriam

  4. #29
    SOH-CM-2020 Duckie's Avatar
    Join Date
    May 2009
    Location
    Fayetteville, Georgia, USA
    Age
    71
    Posts
    2,670
    Quote Originally Posted by txnetcop View Post
    yep it will...


    Thank you.
    Duckie

    "I hate to see you go, but I love to watch you leave!"

    Win7 Home Prem.; ASUS P6TSE; Intel i7 960 (OC 4.0GHz); 12GB Corsair Vengeance DDR3 1600; Sapphire Radeon Dual-X R9 270 2GB GDDR5; ViewSonic 24" VX2433wm; FSX Drive Dedicated Samsung EVO 840 SSD 250GB

    My SOH Downloads: http://www.sim-outhouse.com/sohforum...d=79620&sort=d

  5. #30
    Know what you mean Duckie, been there, done that, it seems that most boards that are only a couple of cycles old have SFA when it comes to SATA sockets!

    Ted will probably have a work around but my quick and dirty solution is to use one of your existing sockets and if it means removing a backup drive then do it anyway.
    You would be better off with an external USB drive as a backup, it is another expense but for around A$110.00 you can get a 2TB external drive (either Seagate or WD).
    As an aside, I use several external backups, as I prefer to use the internal SATA sockets for internal drives.
    SATA 2 connections work with the Samsungs (and most other SSD drives) as their SATA 3 drives are backwards compatible.
    Just my A$00.02.
    "Illegitimum non carborundum".

  6. #31
    SOH-CM-2020 Duckie's Avatar
    Join Date
    May 2009
    Location
    Fayetteville, Georgia, USA
    Age
    71
    Posts
    2,670
    Thanks, Wombat666. I really appreciate you guys helping out. I'm confident in putting the pieces together. Just not so at picking which pieces.

    Going to order the RAM and SSD this afternoon. Then next month, when the funds are refreshed, I'll get the b/u drive.



    Steve
    Duckie

    "I hate to see you go, but I love to watch you leave!"

    Win7 Home Prem.; ASUS P6TSE; Intel i7 960 (OC 4.0GHz); 12GB Corsair Vengeance DDR3 1600; Sapphire Radeon Dual-X R9 270 2GB GDDR5; ViewSonic 24" VX2433wm; FSX Drive Dedicated Samsung EVO 840 SSD 250GB

    My SOH Downloads: http://www.sim-outhouse.com/sohforum...d=79620&sort=d

  7. #32
    SOH Staff txnetcop's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jun 2005
    Location
    Wentzville, MO
    Age
    70
    Posts
    5,242
    Blog Entries
    1
    Quote Originally Posted by Duckie View Post
    Thanks, Wombat666. I really appreciate you guys helping out. I'm confident in putting the pieces together. Just not so at picking which pieces.

    Going to order the RAM and SSD this afternoon. Then next month, when the funds are refreshed, I'll get the b/u drive.



    Steve
    Happily Wombat stole my thunder. I'm sorry I was so busy yesterday. My PT Cruiser has a timing belt instead of a timing chain...it broke and bent some push rods, valves and screwed up the camshaft. I've been trying to save money and requisition all the parts I need on the cheap. I'm hoping my OLD mechanic skills can get me through the tear down and reassembly. I'd rather work on computers!
    Great advice. You can buy Sata II expansion cards for less than $20.00. Anyway you are heading in the right direction Duckie! Thanks Wombat!
    Ted
    Vivat Christus Rex! Ad maiorem Dei gloriam

  8. #33
    Nasty project there Ted!
    Those toothed 'rubber' belts are good as long as you get them changed at the recommended service intervals.
    Almost lost one of the Toyota engines in my first Caterham that way, just caught it before the piston crowns and the valves did a tap dance routine!!!!!

    Duckie, one thing worth keeping in mind, external drives often (at least, in Oz) turn up discounted, especially when a new model arrives in the marketplace.
    And I always have a bit of a haggle, last year's 2TB drive might be discounted from say A$200.00 to A$139.00 for example, with a bit of arm twisting that can be dragged down to A$119.00.
    When a store announces 'We won't be beaten on price' I take them to the limit, then I push harder .................... 99% of the time I win.
    "Illegitimum non carborundum".

  9. #34
    SOH-CM-2020 Duckie's Avatar
    Join Date
    May 2009
    Location
    Fayetteville, Georgia, USA
    Age
    71
    Posts
    2,670
    @Ted - Yikes! Never had that happen but have replaced timing chain and gears, cam, lifters and intake manifold before so I know what you're in for. Good luck on your rebuild!

    @Wombat - I'll definitely be watching the sale ads for the external drive!

    Again, thank you both for all your experienced advice and willingness to share it. It was most helpful.

    Cheers,
    Steve
    Duckie

    "I hate to see you go, but I love to watch you leave!"

    Win7 Home Prem.; ASUS P6TSE; Intel i7 960 (OC 4.0GHz); 12GB Corsair Vengeance DDR3 1600; Sapphire Radeon Dual-X R9 270 2GB GDDR5; ViewSonic 24" VX2433wm; FSX Drive Dedicated Samsung EVO 840 SSD 250GB

    My SOH Downloads: http://www.sim-outhouse.com/sohforum...d=79620&sort=d

  10. #35
    SOH-CM-2020 Duckie's Avatar
    Join Date
    May 2009
    Location
    Fayetteville, Georgia, USA
    Age
    71
    Posts
    2,670
    Just pulled the trigger on these. Scheduled for Thursday.

    1 x CORSAIR Vengeance 12GB (3 x 4GB) 240-Pin DDR3 SDRAM DDR3 1600 (PC3 12800) Desktop Memory Model CMZ12GX3M3A1600C9

    1 x SAMSUNG 840 EVO MZ-7TE250BW 2.5" 250GB SATA 6Gb/s TLC Internal Solid State Drive (SSD)

    1 x ICY DOCK EZ-Fit Lite MB290SP-B 2 x 2.5 to 3.5 Drive Bay SATA/IDE SSD/HDD Mounting Kit / Bracket / Adapter

    Duckie

    "I hate to see you go, but I love to watch you leave!"

    Win7 Home Prem.; ASUS P6TSE; Intel i7 960 (OC 4.0GHz); 12GB Corsair Vengeance DDR3 1600; Sapphire Radeon Dual-X R9 270 2GB GDDR5; ViewSonic 24" VX2433wm; FSX Drive Dedicated Samsung EVO 840 SSD 250GB

    My SOH Downloads: http://www.sim-outhouse.com/sohforum...d=79620&sort=d

  11. #36
    SOH Staff txnetcop's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jun 2005
    Location
    Wentzville, MO
    Age
    70
    Posts
    5,242
    Blog Entries
    1
    Way to rock that upgrade!!!
    Ted
    Vivat Christus Rex! Ad maiorem Dei gloriam

  12. #37
    SOH-CM-2020 Duckie's Avatar
    Join Date
    May 2009
    Location
    Fayetteville, Georgia, USA
    Age
    71
    Posts
    2,670
    Intel Core i7 3.2 MGHz - DONE!

    CORSAIR Vengeance 12GB (3 x 4GB) DDR3 1600 - DONE!

    SAMSUNG 840 EVO2.5" 250GB SATA 6Gb/s TLC Internal Solid State Drive (SSD) - DONE!

    Now, who can point me to some OC'ing Instructions for DUMMIES?
    Duckie

    "I hate to see you go, but I love to watch you leave!"

    Win7 Home Prem.; ASUS P6TSE; Intel i7 960 (OC 4.0GHz); 12GB Corsair Vengeance DDR3 1600; Sapphire Radeon Dual-X R9 270 2GB GDDR5; ViewSonic 24" VX2433wm; FSX Drive Dedicated Samsung EVO 840 SSD 250GB

    My SOH Downloads: http://www.sim-outhouse.com/sohforum...d=79620&sort=d

  13. #38
    SOH Staff txnetcop's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jun 2005
    Location
    Wentzville, MO
    Age
    70
    Posts
    5,242
    Blog Entries
    1
    Quote Originally Posted by Duckie View Post
    Intel Core i7 3.2 MGHz - DONE!

    CORSAIR Vengeance 12GB (3 x 4GB) DDR3 1600 - DONE!

    SAMSUNG 840 EVO2.5" 250GB SATA 6Gb/s TLC Internal Solid State Drive (SSD) - DONE!

    Now, who can point me to some OC'ing Instructions for DUMMIES?

    Let me see if I still have my video on youtube...if not I will find an EZ OC for ya! You might want to test it with FSX before you even O/C it just to an idea of what you have accomplished so far.
    Vivat Christus Rex! Ad maiorem Dei gloriam

  14. #39
    SOH-CM-2020 Duckie's Avatar
    Join Date
    May 2009
    Location
    Fayetteville, Georgia, USA
    Age
    71
    Posts
    2,670
    Quote Originally Posted by txnetcop View Post
    Let me see if I still have my video on youtube...if not I will find an EZ OC for ya! You might want to test it with FSX before you even O/C it just to an idea of what you have accomplished so far.
    Thank you Ted. I kinda thought you might have a tidbit or two! I haven't installed FSX yet. Still waiting on my Gold edition. I don't have Acceleration and I wanted to have that option before I loaded any addons.

    Steve
    Duckie

    "I hate to see you go, but I love to watch you leave!"

    Win7 Home Prem.; ASUS P6TSE; Intel i7 960 (OC 4.0GHz); 12GB Corsair Vengeance DDR3 1600; Sapphire Radeon Dual-X R9 270 2GB GDDR5; ViewSonic 24" VX2433wm; FSX Drive Dedicated Samsung EVO 840 SSD 250GB

    My SOH Downloads: http://www.sim-outhouse.com/sohforum...d=79620&sort=d

  15. #40
    SOH Staff txnetcop's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jun 2005
    Location
    Wentzville, MO
    Age
    70
    Posts
    5,242
    Blog Entries
    1
    STEVE, I WILL FIND MY VIDEO but this is just to give you an idea of how simple the process is with the i7 960 to 4.0GHz. However I still recommend not OCing until you actually have your FSX loaded and working. I can also give you some minor tips for graphics. I confess I am not the consummate expert on AMD video cards but maybe someone else in here is.

    This is gonna sound like gobbly-gook until you go into your bios and look. What this is saying basically is over-ride your voltage vcore setting to 1.4 to start. Your qpi voltage in your BIOS should be at 1.35. That is well within the safe limits established by Intel for heat. And raise the BCLK setting to 167. If you have a good cooler that should do it. Your memory should easily handle it without any changes in the BIOS.

    I have found the easiest way to overclock the i7 9xx series is to simply increase the cpu vcore and use the highest cpu muliplier then increase the BCLK until you hit the desired frequency.

    ex: 24x167 = 4.08GHz

    You will also need to increase the qpi voltage since increasing the BCLK requires more voltage to stabalize the overclock of the qpi. The rule of thumb is to keep the qpi voltage at about the same as the cpu Vcore. Leave everything on auto. I have read loads of overclock guides that have you changing the many of the settings without any solid justification as to why. The voltage range for that chip is 1.2-1.375V. That is the safe recommended range. There is another chart that intel has that shows the absolute range to be 1.2-1.6V. Exceeding 1.375V is supposed to degrade the lifespan of the chip. exceeding 1.6V is supposed to kill it fast. I have read that many people use up to 1.45V full time. I had my i7 965 running at 4GHz but it required 1.4125V in order to run prime95 stable.

    I would start with a cpu Vcore of 1.4V and a qpi voltage of 1.35V and run prime95. If you can make it through at least 20 minutes without one of the threads shutting down then you can try lowering the Vcore and doing it all over again until you find a Vcore that is 100% stable. Once you find a stable Vcore you can do the same for the qpi voltage. I don't think 1.35V is enough to run the i7 960 at 4GHz and be stable under load.
    Vivat Christus Rex! Ad maiorem Dei gloriam

  16. #41
    SOH-CM-2020 Duckie's Avatar
    Join Date
    May 2009
    Location
    Fayetteville, Georgia, USA
    Age
    71
    Posts
    2,670
    Thank you Ted. I'll wait until I can install FSX and the run your recommended settings.

    Steve
    Duckie

    "I hate to see you go, but I love to watch you leave!"

    Win7 Home Prem.; ASUS P6TSE; Intel i7 960 (OC 4.0GHz); 12GB Corsair Vengeance DDR3 1600; Sapphire Radeon Dual-X R9 270 2GB GDDR5; ViewSonic 24" VX2433wm; FSX Drive Dedicated Samsung EVO 840 SSD 250GB

    My SOH Downloads: http://www.sim-outhouse.com/sohforum...d=79620&sort=d

  17. #42
    Quote Originally Posted by Duckie View Post
    Thank you Ted. I'll wait until I can install FSX and the run your recommended settings.

    Steve
    Prayer helps!
    Baby steps when it comes to the O/C game, good advice from Ted, and pretty concise as well.
    BTW, happened upon FSX Gold at the local 'Video Games' (They really mean 'Console Games') store going out for A$18.00, always good to take the opportunity and grab a cheap backup.
    "Illegitimum non carborundum".

  18. #43
    SOH-CM-2020 Duckie's Avatar
    Join Date
    May 2009
    Location
    Fayetteville, Georgia, USA
    Age
    71
    Posts
    2,670
    Hi Folks,

    X is installed and is currently PURE STOCK acceleration (NO DX10) with the exception of FSUIPC4.x, which has been added. No tinkering of any kind with configs and my first slider settings are below. Test flights in the J-3 CUB over KATL and the city had FPS stay in the low 30's up to high 50s. All views and panning were very smooth, no stuttering or flickering.

    Click image for larger version. 

Name:	Graphics.jpg 
Views:	0 
Size:	89.5 KB 
ID:	10245Click image for larger version. 

Name:	Aircraft.jpg 
Views:	0 
Size:	79.5 KB 
ID:	10246Click image for larger version. 

Name:	Scenery.jpg 
Views:	0 
Size:	91.9 KB 
ID:	10247Click image for larger version. 

Name:	WX.jpg 
Views:	0 
Size:	84.7 KB 
ID:	10248Click image for larger version. 

Name:	Traffic.jpg 
Views:	0 
Size:	91.4 KB 
ID:	10249

    I know this will only go down as I begin to add stuff like REX and FSG mesh. So, I guess the next thing to look at is OCing the CPU and tweaks in X. Is there a list of "MUST DO" tweaks for the config files I need to consider?

    And I'll definitely need some assistance with the OCing. Ted, were you able to find the video you mentioned above?

    As always, any and all help is welcome and appreciated.

    Thanks,
    Steve
    Duckie

    "I hate to see you go, but I love to watch you leave!"

    Win7 Home Prem.; ASUS P6TSE; Intel i7 960 (OC 4.0GHz); 12GB Corsair Vengeance DDR3 1600; Sapphire Radeon Dual-X R9 270 2GB GDDR5; ViewSonic 24" VX2433wm; FSX Drive Dedicated Samsung EVO 840 SSD 250GB

    My SOH Downloads: http://www.sim-outhouse.com/sohforum...d=79620&sort=d

  19. #44
    For setting up your ATI card and tweaks for the fsx.cfg try this thread over at Avsim.
    http://forum.avsim.net/topic/404430-...great-results/
    You may need to log-in first, before you can see the thread.
    If you decide to give dx10 a try, just check the DX10 forum here at SOH for a detailed guide.
    I know you can't buy Steve's fixxer right now, but you can get the freeware fix's at Avsim.
    Even with just the freeware stuff it gives FSX a whole new life + fps.

    Joe
    I7 6700K @ 4.8 / Gigabyte Z170X UD3 / 16GB G.Skill TridentZ 3200mhz / EVGA GTX 1070 Ti FTW Ultra 8GB / EVGA SuperNova 750 G2
    Samsung 960 Evo NVMe M.2 250gb Boot Drive / 960 Evo 1 TB SSD - Game Drive / WD Blue 500GB SSD - Sim Drive / WD Black 1TB HD
    Fractal Design Celsius S36 AIO Cooler / Fractal Design Define R6 / LG
    32GK850G-B 32" 1440P 144Hz G-Sync Monitor

  20. #45
    SOH-CM-2020 Duckie's Avatar
    Join Date
    May 2009
    Location
    Fayetteville, Georgia, USA
    Age
    71
    Posts
    2,670
    Thanks Joe, will check it out.
    Duckie

    "I hate to see you go, but I love to watch you leave!"

    Win7 Home Prem.; ASUS P6TSE; Intel i7 960 (OC 4.0GHz); 12GB Corsair Vengeance DDR3 1600; Sapphire Radeon Dual-X R9 270 2GB GDDR5; ViewSonic 24" VX2433wm; FSX Drive Dedicated Samsung EVO 840 SSD 250GB

    My SOH Downloads: http://www.sim-outhouse.com/sohforum...d=79620&sort=d

  21. #46
    SOH-CM-2020 Duckie's Avatar
    Join Date
    May 2009
    Location
    Fayetteville, Georgia, USA
    Age
    71
    Posts
    2,670

    OC Update

    Following Ted's initial suggestion to OC my i7 960, here are the current results. My Specs are in my SIG.

    Current Settings: VCORE arrived at after 9 adjustments beginning at 1.40v. DRAM settings based on mfg spec. CPU and BCLK freqs from the ASUS OC chart of Intel I7 950 and 960 OC settings for 4GHz OC.

    AI OVERCLOCK - Manual
    CPU Ratio - 25
    BCLK Freq - 160

    (OC Freq to 4.0 GHz)

    DRAM Freq - 1604
    DRAM Timing - 9-9-9-24
    CPU VCORE - 1.3375v
    QPI CORE V - 1.350v
    HT - Disabled

    All other settings on AUTO or DEFAULT

    The above passed 8 hours 10 minutes of Prime 95 Small FTT Torture Test without any threads shutting down.
    DRAM Passed MEMTEST86 after 3 passes no failures, no errors.

    PROBLEM - HEAT!

    IDLE - NO LOAD 45 degrees C

    Upon Prime 95 activation immediate jump to 75 C eventually increases to 88 C. Upon test termination CPU temp drops immediately to 50C and after a few seconds settles to 45 C.

    My cooler is a NOCTUA Z1290 with two 140mm fans in push/pull config.
    Case, ANTEC 900 II with 4 fans - 2 120mm front intake, 1 120mm rear exhaust, 1 200mm chimney exhaust. All running at 100%.
    Case and boards are free of dust.
    I reseated the cooler twice in the past week. Cleaned the radiator plate and chip, and applied fresh Artic Sliver. Each time the previous application of Artic Silver was seen to have been applied evenly across the plate and chip, no gaps or bubbles.

    I haven't tried dropping back to 3.8 GHz yet but that may be the answer.

    Any thoughts or suggestions to reduce heat aside from liquid cooling?

    Thanks,
    Steve
    Duckie

    "I hate to see you go, but I love to watch you leave!"

    Win7 Home Prem.; ASUS P6TSE; Intel i7 960 (OC 4.0GHz); 12GB Corsair Vengeance DDR3 1600; Sapphire Radeon Dual-X R9 270 2GB GDDR5; ViewSonic 24" VX2433wm; FSX Drive Dedicated Samsung EVO 840 SSD 250GB

    My SOH Downloads: http://www.sim-outhouse.com/sohforum...d=79620&sort=d

  22. #47
    I doubt you can do better with 'Air' cooling than with the NOCTUA, I've used them for some time and still do if space in the tower is not an issue.
    These days I prefer the liquid cooling option, as prices have dropped to the same or below that of a NOCTUA.
    Most of my customer builds use the Hydro H60 Second Edition, I find they fit into the Fractal Define Define R4 case with space to spare.
    Attachment 10398

    Attachment 10399

    Attachment 10400
    "Illegitimum non carborundum".

  23. #48
    You do know you live in Georgia, its hot during this time of year.
    One thing I would try is facing the top fan (in case) to blow in. Then run
    prime for one test and see if temps go down. Have you tried backing off
    the Vcore a little and see if its stable? I'm sure Ted will chime in soon, he
    has a little more experience with these chips and keeping them cool.

    Joe
    I7 6700K @ 4.8 / Gigabyte Z170X UD3 / 16GB G.Skill TridentZ 3200mhz / EVGA GTX 1070 Ti FTW Ultra 8GB / EVGA SuperNova 750 G2
    Samsung 960 Evo NVMe M.2 250gb Boot Drive / 960 Evo 1 TB SSD - Game Drive / WD Blue 500GB SSD - Sim Drive / WD Black 1TB HD
    Fractal Design Celsius S36 AIO Cooler / Fractal Design Define R6 / LG
    32GK850G-B 32" 1440P 144Hz G-Sync Monitor

  24. #49
    Just by way of comparison, this has a dual width radiator but only needed a single fan.
    The girl I put it together for wanted a little more extra grunt that usual!
    And she isn't a 'Gamer' either.

    Attachment 10401


    As a contrast, this one was pretty much a day to day unit for average use without any heavy graphics, but with plenty of upgrade potential.
    Same case but the cooler takes up a lot of space, however, it is absolutely silent.

    Attachment 10403


    And just as an example of what my partner calls 'Wretched Excess', this is how little space and how efficient the larger Corsair is, my previous build,
    currently being upgraded ....... nothing succeeds like excess!
    Attachment 10402


    I can only suggest you either drop your OC back or go for one of the liquid cooling options.
    However, my 'stand by' OC58/960 system runs a steady 4G OC under air in a Corsair Carbide Air 540 'High Airflow Cube' so it might be worth looking at extra case fans .....
    "Illegitimum non carborundum".

  25. #50
    SOH-CM-2020 Duckie's Avatar
    Join Date
    May 2009
    Location
    Fayetteville, Georgia, USA
    Age
    71
    Posts
    2,670
    @wombat666...the Noctua I have totally fills the space available, which I'm sure are probably well aware! The one in the ad you posted looks like they took my cooler, split the radiator and moved one of the fans between the radiator halves!

    I'll definitely look at adding another fan, possibly 2. I'm still moving Vcore down but I don't think there's much more room before it bottoms out. Las t resort will be to back off the OC

    @Joe...Georgia, yeah, HOT! You ought 'a know a bit about heat and humidity! Still backing down on Vcore looking for the sweet spot. This is my first attempt to OC and I'm trying to be very careful with each step.

    Thanks guys. I will continue to tinker, methodically!
    Duckie

    "I hate to see you go, but I love to watch you leave!"

    Win7 Home Prem.; ASUS P6TSE; Intel i7 960 (OC 4.0GHz); 12GB Corsair Vengeance DDR3 1600; Sapphire Radeon Dual-X R9 270 2GB GDDR5; ViewSonic 24" VX2433wm; FSX Drive Dedicated Samsung EVO 840 SSD 250GB

    My SOH Downloads: http://www.sim-outhouse.com/sohforum...d=79620&sort=d

Members who have read this thread: 1

Bookmarks

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •