This Could Be Very Interesting - AnKor's Shaders - Page 31
Page 31 of 31 FirstFirst ... 21232425262728293031
Results 751 to 769 of 769

Thread: This Could Be Very Interesting - AnKor's Shaders

  1. #751
    Quote Originally Posted by mongoose View Post
    this seems to suggest your old card still should be fine at top resolution. Explain why you are running in 800 x 600 16 bit.
    Sorry , forgot to mentioned the real problem . If i change the resolution , CTD.

  2. #752
    Moongoose check your PM

  3. #753
    SOH-CM-2020 mongoose's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jun 2005
    Location
    Navigator, where are we?
    Age
    75
    Posts
    2,550
    I did and as I said in reply, the most informed person to help you would be MajorMagee who also knows a hell of a lot more about PC's than I do. Try me as a last resort!

    Cato said "Carthaginem esse delendam"
    I say "Carthago iam diu deleta,sed enim Bellum Alium adhuc aedificandum est"

  4. #754
    Hard to tell what could it be. Maybe a driver issue?

    GTX 660 should be perfectly ok, back when I started working on these shaders I had GTX 285 1GB made in 2009.

    Make sure you've installed the latest version of DirectX 9, available here: https://www.microsoft.com/en-us/down...s.aspx?id=8109

    What seems weird is that you are using 16-bit mode. It is not supported by DX9 shaders and (if I remember it correctly) should not even appear in CFS3Config, only 32 bit modes should be visible.

    Can you find d3d8.log in your CFS3 folder and post its contents here? It is just a text file which will open in Notepad (and Windows will likely show it simply as "d3d8" with an icon like a text file)

  5. #755
    Quote Originally Posted by AnKor View Post
    Hard to tell what could it be. Maybe a driver issue?

    GTX 660 should be perfectly ok, back when I started working on these shaders I had GTX 285 1GB made in 2009.

    Make sure you've installed the latest version of DirectX 9, available here: https://www.microsoft.com/en-us/down...s.aspx?id=8109

    What seems weird is that you are using 16-bit mode. It is not supported by DX9 shaders and (if I remember it correctly) should not even appear in CFS3Config, only 32 bit modes should be visible.

    Can you find d3d8.log in your CFS3 folder and post its contents here? It is just a text file which will open in Notepad (and Windows will likely show it simply as "d3d8" with an icon like a text file)
    Thank you , AnKor for your support and this is my log file.

    0.00: DllMain - Starting up.
    98.08: D3DWrapper::GetAdapterDisplayMode - 1920, 1080, 60, 22
    98.09: D3DWrapper::GetAdapterDisplayMode - 1920, 1080, 60, 22
    98.09: D3DWrapper::CreateDevice - NVIDIA GeForce GTX 660 (Driver Version: 24.21.13.9924)
    98.09: D3DWrapper::CreateDevice - Hardware Vertex Processing
    98.09: D3DWrapper::CreateDevice - Adapter: 0, Type: 1, Flags: 0x42
    98.09: D3DWrapper::CreateDevice - Windowed: 0, Width: 1920, Height: 1080, Refresh: 0, Format: 22, Multisampling: 0
    98.09: D3DWrapper::CreateDevice - AutoDepthStencilFormat: 75
    98.09: D3DWrapper::CreateDevice - SwapEffect: 3, PresentationInterval: 0
    98.68: FakeDevice::FakeDevice - Available Texture Memory 4072 MB
    98.68: FakeDevice::FakeDevice - cfs3.exe version: 3.1.0.30203
    98.68: FakeDevice::FakeDevice - Patching external FOV: 30 (0.523599)
    98.68: FakeDevice::FakeDevice - Patching visibility culling.
    98.68: EffectBase::CheckShaderCache
    98.70: VirtualCockpit::EnableEnhancements - Patching cockpit view.
    98.70: VirtualCockpit::EnableEnhancements - Zoom Settings: 0.800000 1.250000 10.000000
    98.70: VirtualCockpit::EnableEnhancements - Mouse Look Speed: 1.000000
    98.70: LightArray::ApplyPatch - Patching maximum dynamic light count.
    98.70: DrawRecorder:rawRecorder - Starting worker threads.
    98.70: WorkerThread::WorkerThread - Number of Processors: 4
    98.74: ModelBuffer::Init - SSE4.1 NOT available
    98.74: ModelBuffer::CreateBuffers - Capacity = 600000
    98.74: ModelBuffer::Init - Available Texture Memory 4050 MB
    98.74: Models::OnInit - Shadow Map Size: 2048, Filter: On
    98.75: Models::OnInit - Available Texture Memory 4002 MB
    98.75: DrawRecorder::Init - Scenery Shadow Map Size: 8192
    98.75: DrawRecorder::Init - Terrain Shadow Map Size: 2048
    98.75: DrawRecorder::Init - Available Texture Memory 3890 MB
    98.75: DrawRecorder::StartCompileShaders
    98.75: CompileShaders - Starting.
    98.75: SeaWater::CompileShaders - Sea: Light
    98.75: CompileShaders - Finished.
    108.57: EffectBase::CreateEffect - Loading: Texture.fx
    108.59: TextureManager::Init - Loading TextureMagic.ini
    113.12: DrawRecorder::LoadShaders
    113.12: EffectBase::CreateEffect - Loading: Generic.fx
    113.14: EffectBase::CreateEffect - Loading: GroundShadow.fx
    113.15: SeaWater::LoadShaders - Sea: Light
    113.15: EffectBase::CreateEffect - Loading: SeaWater.fx
    113.17: EffectBase::CreateEffect - Loading: Scenery.fx
    113.21: EffectBase::CreateEffect - Loading: Terrain.fx
    113.28: EffectBase::CreateEffect - Loading: Clouds.fx
    113.29: EffectBase::CreateEffect - Loading: Skybox.fx
    113.29: EffectBase::CreateEffect - Loading: Models.fx
    113.32: EffectBase::CreateEffect - Loading: RenderShadows.fx
    113.32: DrawRecorder::LogStats - T:0.9 (0.0 0) MD:0 (0.00) SC:0 TE:0 CL:0 (0;0) SP:0 SH:0 UI:0 Oth:0 LT:0
    113.70: DrawCalls buffer resized to 1024
    113.70: GeometryBuffer::PopulateBuffers - Resize Vertex Buffer FVF = 0x1C4, Size = 32768

    after the last line , of course , CTD.

  6. #756
    Thanks.
    Nothing really wrong in the log.
    However, could it be that you have set "Safest Settings" in cfs3config? This option may be incompatible with DX9 shaders.
    Try selecting "Default Settings" there and see if it helps.

  7. #757
    Default setting and CTD in loading game

    0.00: DllMain - Starting up.
    32.93: D3DWrapper::GetAdapterDisplayMode - 1920, 1080, 60, 22
    32.93: D3DWrapper::GetAdapterDisplayMode - 1920, 1080, 60, 22
    32.93: D3DWrapper::CreateDevice - NVIDIA GeForce GTX 660 (Driver Version: 24.21.13.9924)
    32.93: D3DWrapper::CreateDevice - Hardware Vertex Processing
    32.93: D3DWrapper::CreateDevice - Adapter: 0, Type: 1, Flags: 0x42
    32.93: D3DWrapper::CreateDevice - Windowed: 0, Width: 800, Height: 600, Refresh: 0, Format: 22, Multisampling: 0
    32.93: D3DWrapper::CreateDevice - AutoDepthStencilFormat: 75
    32.93: D3DWrapper::CreateDevice - SwapEffect: 1, PresentationInterval: 0
    34.14: FakeDevice::FakeDevice - Available Texture Memory 4090 MB
    34.14: FakeDevice::FakeDevice - cfs3.exe version: 3.1.0.30203
    34.14: FakeDevice::FakeDevice - Patching external FOV: 30 (0.523599)
    34.14: FakeDevice::FakeDevice - Patching visibility culling.
    34.14: EffectBase::CheckShaderCache
    34.14: VirtualCockpit::EnableEnhancements - Patching cockpit view.
    34.14: VirtualCockpit::EnableEnhancements - Zoom Settings: 0.800000 1.250000 10.000000
    34.14: VirtualCockpit::EnableEnhancements - Mouse Look Speed: 1.000000
    34.14: LightArray::ApplyPatch - Patching maximum dynamic light count.
    34.14: DrawRecorder:rawRecorder - Starting worker threads.
    34.14: WorkerThread::WorkerThread - Number of Processors: 4
    34.18: ModelBuffer::Init - SSE4.1 NOT available
    34.18: ModelBuffer::CreateBuffers - Capacity = 600000
    34.18: ModelBuffer::Init - Available Texture Memory 4069 MB
    34.19: Models::OnInit - Shadow Map Size: 2048, Filter: On
    34.19: Models::OnInit - Available Texture Memory 4021 MB
    34.19: DrawRecorder::Init - Scenery Shadow Map Size: 8192
    34.19: DrawRecorder::Init - Terrain Shadow Map Size: 2048
    34.19: DrawRecorder::Init - Available Texture Memory 3909 MB
    34.19: DrawRecorder::StartCompileShaders
    34.19: CompileShaders - Starting.
    34.20: SeaWater::CompileShaders - Sea: Light
    34.20: CompileShaders - Finished.
    34.95: EffectBase::CreateEffect - Loading: Texture.fx
    34.96: TextureManager::Init - Loading TextureMagic.ini
    36.48: DrawRecorder::LoadShaders
    36.48: EffectBase::CreateEffect - Loading: Generic.fx
    36.49: EffectBase::CreateEffect - Loading: GroundShadow.fx
    36.49: SeaWater::LoadShaders - Sea: Light
    36.49: EffectBase::CreateEffect - Loading: SeaWater.fx
    36.51: EffectBase::CreateEffect - Loading: Scenery.fx
    36.54: EffectBase::CreateEffect - Loading: Terrain.fx
    36.59: EffectBase::CreateEffect - Loading: Clouds.fx
    36.59: EffectBase::CreateEffect - Loading: Skybox.fx
    36.60: EffectBase::CreateEffect - Loading: Models.fx
    36.62: EffectBase::CreateEffect - Loading: RenderShadows.fx
    36.63: DrawRecorder::LogStats - T:0.7 (0.0 0) MD:0 (0.00) SC:0 TE:0 CL:0 (0;0) SP:0 SH:0 UI:0 Oth:0 LT:0
    57.72: DrawCalls buffer resized to 1024
    57.72: GeometryBuffer::PopulateBuffers - Resize Vertex Buffer FVF = 0x1C4, Size = 32768



    Ankor you have a pm , thank you

  8. #758
    0.00: DllMain - Starting up.
    3.80: D3DWrapper::GetAdapterDisplayMode - 1920, 1080, 60, 22
    3.80: D3DWrapper::GetAdapterDisplayMode - 1920, 1080, 60, 22
    3.80: D3DWrapper::CreateDevice - NVIDIA GeForce GTX 660 (Driver Version: 24.21.13.9924)
    3.80: D3DWrapper::CreateDevice - Hardware Vertex Processing
    3.80: D3DWrapper::CreateDevice - Adapter: 0, Type: 1, Flags: 0x42
    3.80: D3DWrapper::CreateDevice - Windowed: 0, Width: 1920, Height: 1080, Refresh: 0, Format: 22, Multisampling: 0
    3.80: D3DWrapper::CreateDevice - AutoDepthStencilFormat: 75
    3.80: D3DWrapper::CreateDevice - SwapEffect: 1, PresentationInterval: 0
    4.44: FakeDevice::FakeDevice - Available Texture Memory 4072 MB
    4.44: FakeDevice::FakeDevice - cfs3.exe version: 3.1.0.30203
    4.44: FakeDevice::FakeDevice - Patching external FOV: 30 (0.523599)
    4.44: FakeDevice::FakeDevice - Patching visibility culling.
    4.44: EffectBase::CheckShaderCache
    4.44: VirtualCockpit::EnableEnhancements - Patching cockpit view.
    4.44: VirtualCockpit::EnableEnhancements - Zoom Settings: 0.800000 1.250000 10.000000
    4.44: VirtualCockpit::EnableEnhancements - Mouse Look Speed: 1.000000
    4.44: LightArray::ApplyPatch - Patching maximum dynamic light count.
    4.44: DrawRecorder:rawRecorder - Starting worker threads.
    4.44: WorkerThread::WorkerThread - Number of Processors: 4
    4.48: ModelBuffer::Init - SSE4.1 NOT available
    4.48: ModelBuffer::CreateBuffers - Capacity = 600000
    4.48: ModelBuffer::Init - Available Texture Memory 4050 MB
    4.49: Models::OnInit - Shadow Map Size: 2048, Filter: On
    4.49: Models::OnInit - Available Texture Memory 4002 MB
    4.49: DrawRecorder::Init - Scenery Shadow Map Size: 8192
    4.49: DrawRecorder::Init - Terrain Shadow Map Size: 2048
    4.49: DrawRecorder::Init - Available Texture Memory 3890 MB
    4.49: DrawRecorder::StartCompileShaders
    4.49: CompileShaders - Starting.
    4.49: CompileShaders - Finished.
    4.59: EffectBase::CreateEffect - Loading: Texture.fx
    4.60: TextureManager::Init - Loading TextureMagic.ini
    5.30: DrawRecorder::LoadShaders
    5.30: EffectBase::CreateEffect - Loading: Generic.fx
    5.31: EffectBase::CreateEffect - Loading: GroundShadow.fx
    5.31: EffectBase::CreateEffect - Loading: SeaWater.fx
    5.33: EffectBase::CreateEffect - Loading: Scenery.fx
    5.36: EffectBase::CreateEffect - Loading: Terrain.fx
    5.41: EffectBase::CreateEffect - Loading: Clouds.fx
    5.42: EffectBase::CreateEffect - Loading: Skybox.fx
    5.42: EffectBase::CreateEffect - Loading: Models.fx
    5.44: EffectBase::CreateEffect - Loading: RenderShadows.fx
    5.45: DrawRecorder::LogStats - T:0.9 (0.0 0) MD:0 (0.00) SC:0 TE:0 CL:0 (0;0) SP:0 SH:0 UI:0 Oth:0 LT:0
    5.51: DrawCalls buffer resized to 1024
    5.51: GeometryBuffer::PopulateBuffers - Resize Vertex Buffer FVF = 0x1C4, Size = 32768
    10.93: WaterBuffer::AddIndexed - Realloc Vertex Capacity: 16384
    10.93: WaterBuffer::AddIndexed - Realloc Index Capacity: 16384
    10.93: ModelDrawData buffer resized to 512
    11.06: GeometryBuffer::PopulateBuffers - Resize Vertex Buffer FVF = 0x142, Size = 524288
    11.06: GeometryBuffer::PopulateBuffers - Resize Index Buffer FVF = 0x142, Size = 16384
    11.07: SeaWater::SetupNormals - Normal Map #1: 256 x 256
    11.09: WaterBuffer::PopulateBuffers - Water Vertex Buffer, Capacity = 16384
    11.09: WaterBuffer::PopulateBuffers - Water Index Buffer, Capacity = 16384
    11.15: GeometryBuffer::PopulateBuffers - Resize Vertex Buffer FVF = 0x102, Size = 32768
    11.15: GeometryBuffer::PopulateBuffers - Resize Index Buffer FVF = 0x102, Size = 16384
    19.25: DllMain - Exiting

    Now run , but can't move the graphic setting slider on full quality , becouse give me a graphic error

  9. #759
    I was doing some restoration work in my base install of CFS3 and wondered why I wasn't seeing the same level of glass reflectivity that I was getting in ETO. Both had AnKor's Shaders installed, but there were other file differences (sky, sun and weather related files, suneffect.xml, shader.xml, etc.). I kept changing the ones in the base install to match what was in ETO, with no effect, until I tried the panoramic_cubic_test.dds, and viola that was it.

    Back when we first started developing the new shaders in 2015 the panoramic_cubic_test file was key to simulating some of the water reflection effects we were trying to show. Over time most of that was done directly within the environment and the importance of panoramic_cubic_test faded. Evidently it still has an important part to play.

    The default panoramic_cubic_test.dds that comes with the game was not laid out correctly, in that the Up, Down, Left, Right sequence was done improperly. I've never provided the improved panoramic_cubic_test.dds I created with the Shader packages, but now perhaps it looks like I should have.

    p.s. Now I wonder if this had anything to do with the differences in the B-17 reflectivity we were recently trying to figure out.

    p.p.s. I see that my improved set of panoramic files was included within the MAW 1943 install package, so many of you have them already.
    Last edited by MajorMagee; January 13th, 2019 at 10:26.
    US Army, Major, Ret.

    Service To The Line,
    On The Line,
    On Time

    US Army Ordnance Corps.

  10. #760
    Members +
    Join Date
    Sep 2005
    Location
    Calgary, Alberta, Canada
    Age
    27
    Posts
    536
    Is there more work being done with this?
    :tgun2: :tgun2: M3 fAiL 3nglush thats umpossible!

  11. #761
    In the thread discussing Gecko's new High Rez mapping file that sets the color of the water for ETO, he revealed that we can use a file named State.txt added to the Effects\Fxtextures folder to trigger the different sea states listed at the top of SeaWater.fx.

    http://www.sim-outhouse.com/sohforum...=1#post1207368

    The valid entries are:
    Calm
    Light
    Medium
    Heavy
    (having no text in the file uses Default)

    With the ability to try these all out now I've been able to put together some updated parameters for the SeaWater.fx entries that provides a progression of different sea states. This is set up to have the Default fall in the sequence between Calm and Light.

    #if defined Sea_Calm
    #define BaseOpacity 0.95
    #define WaveBump 6.0
    #define WaveScale 6.0
    #define FoamAmount 0.33
    #define AddFoam
    #elif defined Sea_Light
    #define BaseOpacity 0.97
    #define WaveBump 4.0
    #define WaveScale 4.0
    #define FoamAmount 0.31
    #define AddFoam
    #elif defined Sea_Medium
    #define BaseOpacity 0.99
    #define WaveBump 3.0
    #define WaveScale 3.0
    #define FoamAmount 0.30
    #define AddFoam
    #elif defined Sea_Heavy
    #define BaseOpacity 1.0 // assumed 1 if not defined
    #define WaveBump 2.0
    #define WaveScale 2.0
    #define FoamAmount 0.29
    #define AddFoam
    #else // default (i.e. stock CFS3)
    #define BaseOpacity 0.99
    #define WaveBump 5.0
    #define WaveScale 5.0
    #define FoamAmount 0.32
    #define AddFoam
    #endif

    Calm


    Default


    Light


    Medium


    Heavy
    US Army, Major, Ret.

    Service To The Line,
    On The Line,
    On Time

    US Army Ordnance Corps.

  12. #762
    Member greycap.raf's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jul 2005
    Location
    A small town in southern Finland
    Age
    34
    Posts
    609
    There's one thing I've been thinking about a lot and only now did it occur to me that why not ask the master himself. At least I think I haven't asked this before.

    So AnKor, can you shed some light here? When the shaders aren't enabled the autogen trees controlled by the scenerysheet01 texture have full 256-level transparency, as defined by the alpha sheet in the texture. However, when the shaders kick in, it seems to be reduced to either full opacity or full transparency, especially noticable in the winter trees. I'm sure there's a reason to this, or am I just simply doing something wrong with some setting?

  13. #763
    greycap.paf,
    yes, my shaders don't support partial transparency in autogen objects, pixels are either opaque or fully transparent.

    There is a "hidden" option which can be added in d3d8.ini:
    AlphaToCoverage=1
    This is an experimental feature which may or may not work on different configs. If you enable it and also have multisampling enabled, you may get some levels of partial transparency for autogen trees. How many levels you get depends on your multisampling settings, but it will be less than 256 anyway.

    Also, depending on your tastes, you may try changing
    #define AlphaDither 1
    to
    #define AlphaDither 0
    in Scenery.fx to remove artificial dithering from trees.


    Now, why it works like this.

    One of the first things I noticed in CFS3/WOFF when starting missions on an airfield is that sky was often unnaturally visible through tree outlines.
    This happens, because for alpha blending (partial transparency) to work properly objects must be rendered in specific order - from furthest to nearest ("back to front").
    CFS3 correctly sorts semi-transparent objects coming from m3d models and does this for each frame, but autogen objects are generated once, stored in buffers and their rendering order is never updated. This is understandable, because sorting them would kill the performance.

    It is a bit too technical, but in simpler words: even barely visible semi-transparent parts of a tree "occlude" more distant trees if rendered in a wrong order. So instead of a forest you only see some trees closer to you and a clear sky/terrain behind them.

    There's NO painless solution for this.

    You either have to
    - Sort everything which is very slow.
    - Use Alpha To Coverage which is a weak substitute, and not a standard feature for DX9.
    - Use dithering, which can be ugly but still acceptable in some cases.
    - Or just avoid partial transparency.

    Maybe I should have kept the original behavior as an option, but it is too late to change now.

  14. #764
    Member greycap.raf's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jul 2005
    Location
    A small town in southern Finland
    Age
    34
    Posts
    609
    Good and understandable reasons, thanks!


    However I've developed a new problem, and a pretty interesting one at that. After some hardware (and software) revisions I now have a W10 machine - and CFS3 runs, no problems with that. How it runs though is a complete mystery to me. More specifically, anti-aliasing doesn't work when the shaders are applied. The latest Nvidia drivers are in use.

    The story began when I got everything in working order, fired up CFS3 for the first time, and immediately noticed all the jagged edges. I then combed through all the Nvidia 3D settings, double checked them to be the same (or higher) as they used to be, and no luck. The only setting that makes a difference is the FXAA which looks so bad that no thanks. Originally I thought that the fake driver version might be the culprit so I tried with the real version number, no change.

    Then, for some reason or another, I tried the vanilla install used as a base for add-ons. Of course it looked horrible - but it had perfectly working AA, of all things. The next steps were MAW and ETO, both with the shaders, and neither worked. I even tried 16-bit colours to see if it was the key but no, the jaggies didn't go anywhere. Seeing a bit of a pattern here I removed the shaders from my main install, ran CFS3config, and started it up, and... no shaders as expected, but no jagged edges either. Putting the shaders back in made them return so the shaders play some role in this. I just have no idea which that role is!

  15. #765
    Yes, there is a fix for the AA issue. This has been needed for a few years now, as something changed in the Win 10 Fall creators Update (Late 2017) that killed it.

    https://simhq.com/forum/ubbthreads.p...on#Post4406315

    https://forums.guru3d.com/threads/nv...3-0-12.425787/

    http://www.sim-outhouse.com/sohforum...ghlight=Diablo

    http://www.sim-outhouse.com/sohforum...=1#post1211192
    US Army, Major, Ret.

    Service To The Line,
    On The Line,
    On Time

    US Army Ordnance Corps.

  16. #766
    Member greycap.raf's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jul 2005
    Location
    A small town in southern Finland
    Age
    34
    Posts
    609
    Now that... that was some of the weirdest stuff I've seen and I've seen quite a lot. Diablo III settings to get CFS3 to run. But it works!

  17. #767
    I recently started thinking that the prop disk on most aircraft appear much darker that what I remember seeing in films and in-person at airshows. Also the glint from the light striking the blades at varying angles as the aircraft maneuvered was missing. I tried modifying the alpha layer of the prop_german.dds and prop_us_brit.dds files, but that just made the blades stand out more as the disk disappeared, and did nothing for the glint. (I did end up increasing their resolution to 1024 to smooth out some of the banding, and aliased edges) I then tried editing the m3d to enable the same sort of transparency and dynamic lighting effects that AnKor's Shader provide for the canopy glass. This had no effect initially, until I remembered that the [PropDisk] function in TextureMagic.ini is there to specifically prevent the shader effects like shadows and reflections from being applied to the prop. Quickly removing these dds references from that section, and I was in business. Once I found the entries for the prop in the m3d I turned on the 3d reflectivity, and reduced the opacity to 55 (00 00 FF 00 FF FF FF 55). No other edits appear to be required. I didn't suffer any negative impact on FPS, and the effect looks close to what I was after.

    Original Prop Disk Opacity, Reduced Opacity, Reduced Opacity With Glint


    The glint comes and goes pretty quickly as the angles change, so you don't see it most of the time.

    p.s. I live under the glide slope of a small airport, and was watching the planes pass over today. The prop disk is surprisingly hard to see at 1,500 ft unless it happens to catch the glint of the sun.
    Last edited by MajorMagee; June 7th, 2020 at 10:52.
    US Army, Major, Ret.

    Service To The Line,
    On The Line,
    On Time

    US Army Ordnance Corps.

  18. #768
    SOH-CM-2020 mongoose's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jun 2005
    Location
    Navigator, where are we?
    Age
    75
    Posts
    2,550
    So for some clarification:

    1. In the end you only changed the resolution of prop_german.dds and prop_us_brit.dds but nothing else?

    2. Which were the exact dds references in the ini file did you remove?

    3. Which m3d's do you mean; those for each aircraft? Is this; " I turned on the 3d reflectivity, and reduced the opacity to 55 (00 00 FF 00 FF FF FF 55)"; a straight forward thing to do for amateur m3d editors?

    Cato said "Carthaginem esse delendam"
    I say "Carthago iam diu deleta,sed enim Bellum Alium adhuc aedificandum est"

  19. #769
    1. In the end you only changed the resolution of prop_german.dds and prop_us_brit.dds but nothing else?

    I did not change the alpha layer opacity (black conceals / white reveals), but I did run a 3 pixel gaussian blur filter after the enlargement to smooth the edges of the grey scale transitions because of the noticeable mach banding.


    2. Which were the exact dds references in the ini file did you remove?

    Since I was experimenting, and either prop_german.dds or prop_us_brit.dds covers most of the aircraft, I just temporarily renamed both of them in the [PropDisk] section by putting an X at the beginning. I also discovered the hard way that prop_german.dds had accidently been listed there twice.


    3. Which m3d's do you mean; those for each aircraft? Is this; " I turned on the 3d reflectivity, and reduced the opacity to 55 (00 00 FF 00 FF FF FF 55)"; a straight forward thing to do for amateur m3d editors?

    Yes, like reflective canopy glass, it would have to be done for each installed aircraft that you want this effect for. The method for doing this is described in the Knowledge Base here http://www.sim-outhouse.com/sohforum...l=1#post920762 This is actually easier than doing the glass, because you know exactly which line is referencing the prop dds, whereas the glass can take some trial and error to find the right line to edit. By removing the exclusion from the [PropDisk] section it automatically allows all aircraft using that dds file to cast shadows on the prop disk. To also get the reduced opacity and glint requires the m3d edit.

    I use XVI32 for my hex editor. http://www.chmaas.handshake.de/delph...vi32/xvi32.htm
    US Army, Major, Ret.

    Service To The Line,
    On The Line,
    On Time

    US Army Ordnance Corps.

Similar Threads

  1. CH-37 :This would be interesting in FSX
    By Navy Chief in forum FSX General Discussion
    Replies: 11
    Last Post: October 23rd, 2014, 13:34
  2. Interesting Plane... Very interesting :)..
    By warchild in forum FSX General Discussion
    Replies: 8
    Last Post: May 29th, 2011, 17:24
  3. This looks interesting
    By gigabyte in forum Ickie's NewsHawks
    Replies: 2
    Last Post: April 25th, 2011, 12:55
  4. Interesting!
    By Tako_Kichi in forum Racer's Paddock
    Replies: 0
    Last Post: January 7th, 2009, 13:56

Members who have read this thread: 112

Bookmarks

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •