P3D Performance Tweaks and Tunes
Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast
Results 1 to 25 of 34

Thread: P3D Performance Tweaks and Tunes

  1. #1
    SOH-CM-2014
    Join Date
    Jul 2005
    Location
    The land where dust is manufactured and people are high temp tested!
    Age
    55
    Posts
    12,330

    P3D Performance Tweaks and Tunes

    Hey all,

    If you have any good tweaks and performance tunes that you would like to share with fellow P3D flyers, please post them here.

    :salute:


    Bill
    Humble Poly bender and warrior of Vertices


    Alienware Console i7 3770 CPU 3.40 GHz / 16 Gigs of RAM / GTX660 GC w/2 Gigs of VRAM / Windows 7 64 Ultimate
    Running 3X Samsung 840 SSD HD's, 200 Gig each, 500/500 Read/Write

  2. #2
    Quote Originally Posted by Lionheart View Post
    Hey all,

    If you have any good tweaks and performance tunes that you would like to share with fellow P3D flyers, please post them here.

    :salute:


    Bill
    The only one I can think of and which is already known elsewhere is the Bojote tweak at http://www.venetubo.com/fsx.html which is as valid for P3D as it was for FSX. By employing some simple edits, after making sure original files are saved, copy the P3D.cfg to FSX, rename it FSX.cfg employ the Bojote tweak then reverse the process back to P3D. Works a treat. Just be sure and back up Original FSX and P3D files before doing this to avoid disappointment.
    Of course once the v3 P3D comes out this may no longer be the case, but there is a while to wait for that.

  3. #3
    Remember to turn off Bathymetry. Bathymetry is only needed if you are going to use submarines.

  4. #4
    Thanks for the HU Naismith, it worked a treat.

  5. #5
    SOH-CM-2014
    Join Date
    Jul 2005
    Location
    The land where dust is manufactured and people are high temp tested!
    Age
    55
    Posts
    12,330
    Converting your planes textures from BMP to DDS will also enhance performance. At least 2 FPS are gained with cross over planes that have older Bitmaps that are converted to DDS format.

    Every little bit counts.

    Bill
    Humble Poly bender and warrior of Vertices


    Alienware Console i7 3770 CPU 3.40 GHz / 16 Gigs of RAM / GTX660 GC w/2 Gigs of VRAM / Windows 7 64 Ultimate
    Running 3X Samsung 840 SSD HD's, 200 Gig each, 500/500 Read/Write

  6. #6
    SOH-CM-2014
    Join Date
    Jul 2005
    Location
    The land where dust is manufactured and people are high temp tested!
    Age
    55
    Posts
    12,330
    I turned down water reflectives from 75% to 25%, I still have clouds reflections, and performance went up a tad. I usually do not use this, but I was flying over lots of water and in a plane that maxed out the resources, so flying over the water at 25% water detail slider really helped out.


    Bill
    Humble Poly bender and warrior of Vertices


    Alienware Console i7 3770 CPU 3.40 GHz / 16 Gigs of RAM / GTX660 GC w/2 Gigs of VRAM / Windows 7 64 Ultimate
    Running 3X Samsung 840 SSD HD's, 200 Gig each, 500/500 Read/Write

  7. #7
    Does anyone know it TrackIR will work with Perpar?

  8. #8
    Not directly but if you have EZdok it will work through that
    Asus Strix Z270H
    i7-7700K
    16Gb Corsair Vengeance LPX DDR4 3000MHz
    MSI GTX 1070 GamingX
    Corsair H100i V2 Cooler
    Corsair RM850X PSU
    Phanteks Enthoo Evolv case
    Asus VE276Q 27" Monitor 1920x1080
    Win 10
    Oculas Rift
    Logitek G25
    Saitek X55
    Saitek Pro Pedals
    Saitek Cessna Trim Wheel

  9. #9
    Just to stay current, TIR now works natively with P3D using their latest driver. No need for Ezdok or the language.dll hack.

    Vic

  10. #10
    Quote Originally Posted by Lionheart View Post
    Converting your planes textures from BMP to DDS will also enhance performance. At least 2 FPS are gained
    Every little bit counts.

    Bill
    Or to use my old moms saying, "Ev'ry mickle makes a muckle"
    Intel Skylake i5-6600K 3.5GHz Quad-Core Processor
    Asus MAXIMUS IX HERO ATX LGA1151 Z270 Motherboard
    Corsair Vengeance LPX 32GB (4 x 8GB) DDR4-3200 Memory
    Intel BXTS13X 74.0 CFM Liquid CPU Cooler
    Corsair 750W PSU16Gb
    MSI RX580 Radeon Armor 8Gb
    Windows 10 Home Premium 64

  11. #11
    I've found that most of the FSX tweaks we have used are just as valid for P3D. YMMV!

    Srdan "Kosta" Kostic has put his revised FSX/P3D guide up at his blog site. http://kostasfsworld.wordpress.com/f...ardware-guide/
    He also has other FSX/P3D info available there.

    That guide is more oriented toward Sandy and Ivy Bridge rigs, so, the Jesus Altuve(venetubo) auto tweaker may be better suited to older equipment...Don
    HAF 932 Adv, PC P&C 950w, ASUS R4E, i7-3820 5.0GHz(MCR320-XP wet), EVGA GTX 970 FTW, 16GB DDR3-2400,
    128GB SAMSUNG 830-Win 7 Ult x64, 512GB SAMSUNG 840 Pro-FS9/FSX/P3D, WD 1TB Black-FS98, ROF, etc. WD Black 2TB-Storage/Backup,

  12. #12
    Thank You for the link to Kosta's guide.I'm trying to figure out what my Affinity Mask would be on a intel i7 with HD Enabled?

    P.S. Did you know Kosta is now Banned at Avsim?Not sure what happened there.

    Patrick

  13. #13
    SOH-CM-2014
    Join Date
    Jul 2005
    Location
    The land where dust is manufactured and people are high temp tested!
    Age
    55
    Posts
    12,330
    I did the Kosta tweek and it works nicely.
    Humble Poly bender and warrior of Vertices


    Alienware Console i7 3770 CPU 3.40 GHz / 16 Gigs of RAM / GTX660 GC w/2 Gigs of VRAM / Windows 7 64 Ultimate
    Running 3X Samsung 840 SSD HD's, 200 Gig each, 500/500 Read/Write

  14. #14
    In reference to the "Bojote Tweak". . . .I notice that the Affinity Mask is not included. Is that something that should also be added manually, or is there something in the way this particular tweak is done that eliminates the need for the "AffinityMask=14" line?
    Last edited by falcon409; December 11th, 2013 at 06:11.
    USAF Retired, 301st Fighter Wing, Carswell AFB, Texas
    My SOH Uploads: http://www.sim-outhouse.com/sohforum...erid=83&sort=d

    Current System Specs:
    P3dv4 Only | Windows7 64bit
    Motherboard: MSI760GM-E51(MS-7596)
    CPU: 3.9GHz AMD FX-4300 Quad-Core | RAM: 16GB DDR3 1333
    GPU: NVidia GTX 970 (4GB GDDR5)

  15. #15
    According to the P3D programmers (the actual code monkeys themselves!), v2.0 is automatically set to allow the OS exclusive use of core 0, and spreads P3D itself across the remaining physical cores available...

    On the other hand, there are reports that AffinityMask=14 "tweak" somehow smooths things out better...

    I suspect it is a placebo effect myself. L-M invested a lot of effort into expanding the UI configuration menu specifically to make hand editing the p3d.cfg file totally unnecessary...
    Bill Leaming
    3d Modeler Max/GMax
    C & XML Gauge Programmer

    Military Visualizations
    http://milviz.com

    Intel® Core™ i7-3770k 4.2GHz - Crucial 16GB DDR3 - Dual Radeon HD770 1GB DDR5 (Crossfire) - Eco II Watercooling - Win7 64bit
    Intel® Core™ i7-2600k 3.4GHz - Crucial 8GB DDR3 - NVIDIA EVGA GTX-770 SC 4GB - Win7 64bit

  16. #16
    Quote Originally Posted by n4gix View Post
    According to the P3D programmers (the actual code monkeys themselves!), v2.0 is automatically set to allow the OS exclusive use of core 0, and spreads P3D itself across the remaining physical cores available...
    On the other hand, there are reports that AffinityMask=14 "tweak" somehow smooths things out better...
    I suspect it is a placebo effect myself. L-M invested a lot of effort into expanding the UI configuration menu specifically to make hand editing the p3d.cfg file totally unnecessary...
    Thanks Bill!
    USAF Retired, 301st Fighter Wing, Carswell AFB, Texas
    My SOH Uploads: http://www.sim-outhouse.com/sohforum...erid=83&sort=d

    Current System Specs:
    P3dv4 Only | Windows7 64bit
    Motherboard: MSI760GM-E51(MS-7596)
    CPU: 3.9GHz AMD FX-4300 Quad-Core | RAM: 16GB DDR3 1333
    GPU: NVidia GTX 970 (4GB GDDR5)

  17. #17
    I had bad blurries but after adding the AffinityMask=14 tweak the blurries have completely gone.
    So far that's the only tweak I done to the cfg in P2Dv2
    Asus Strix Z270H
    i7-7700K
    16Gb Corsair Vengeance LPX DDR4 3000MHz
    MSI GTX 1070 GamingX
    Corsair H100i V2 Cooler
    Corsair RM850X PSU
    Phanteks Enthoo Evolv case
    Asus VE276Q 27" Monitor 1920x1080
    Win 10
    Oculas Rift
    Logitek G25
    Saitek X55
    Saitek Pro Pedals
    Saitek Cessna Trim Wheel

  18. #18
    Hello,Are The "High Memory Fix" and "Affinity Mask" tweaks still valid in P3D V2.2?
    Thanks

    Patrick

  19. #19
    If anyone has problems with clouds and performance in P3D V.2.3, there is a official workaround by LM which incorporates changing a value in the clouds.fx and deleting the shader cache.
    See

    http://www.prepar3d.com/forum-5/?min...ewtopic&t=7984

    Thanks, Ed (falcon409), for the head up. I tested it on my systems and it worked wonders. It seems like LM changed something in the math of rendering the clouds which led to oversized cloud sprites that drag down the performance. The workaround reduces the size by one half, problem is gone. LM stated to adress this in the service pack / hotfix for the v2.3 version.


    Cheers,
    Mark
    My scenery development galleries:
    https://www.dropbox.com/sh/x0skkam7xu8zz8r/DFwnonB1nH

    Solomon 1943 V2 Open beta download: http://www.sim-outhouse.net/download...on-1943-V2.zip
    Solomon 1943 V2 update 2013-02-05 download: http://www.sim-outhouse.net/download...2013-02-05.zip


    Current Project: DHC-4 / C-7a Caribou by Tailored Radials
    Dev-Gallery at https://www.dropbox.com/sh/qjdtcoxeg...bAG-2V4Ja?dl=0

  20. #20
    Quote Originally Posted by Phantom88 View Post
    Hello,Are The "High Memory Fix" and "Affinity Mask" tweaks still valid in P3D V2.2?
    Thanks
    Neither are necessary in v2.2 or v2.3.
    Bill Leaming
    3d Modeler Max/GMax
    C & XML Gauge Programmer

    Military Visualizations
    http://milviz.com

    Intel® Core™ i7-3770k 4.2GHz - Crucial 16GB DDR3 - Dual Radeon HD770 1GB DDR5 (Crossfire) - Eco II Watercooling - Win7 64bit
    Intel® Core™ i7-2600k 3.4GHz - Crucial 8GB DDR3 - NVIDIA EVGA GTX-770 SC 4GB - Win7 64bit

  21. #21
    Stupid question... UIAutomationCore.dll... still a thing?


  22. #22
    No, this is not necessary anymore. (also valid for version 2.x)

  23. #23
    Quote Originally Posted by roger-wilco-66 View Post
    If anyone has problems with clouds and performance in P3D V.2.3, there is a official workaround by LM which incorporates changing a value in the clouds.fx and deleting the shader cache.
    See

    http://www.prepar3d.com/forum-5/?min...ewtopic&t=7984

    Thanks, Ed (falcon409), for the head up. I tested it on my systems and it worked wonders. It seems like LM changed something in the math of rendering the clouds which led to oversized cloud sprites that drag down the performance. The workaround reduces the size by one half, problem is gone. LM stated to adress this in the service pack / hotfix for the v2.3 version.


    Cheers,
    Mark

    Can somebody post this exact information because I am not sure this thread on the prepar3d.com site still exists. This tweak worked well for me before in 3.2 but I cannot find the info to apply in 3.3.

  24. #24
    Quote Originally Posted by ejoiner View Post
    Can somebody post this exact information because I am not sure this thread on the prepar3d.com site still exists. This tweak worked well for me before in 3.2 but I cannot find the info to apply in 3.3.
    The thread seems to be gone, but it has to be noted that this was a work around for the old 2.3 version prior to an hotfix, which essentially made the same correction. Further, LM has constantly tuned the cloud.fx with each release iteration (also in the latest version), so I think it would be safe to say that applying this old fix would probably be counter productive.

    Cheers,
    Mark
    My scenery development galleries:
    https://www.dropbox.com/sh/x0skkam7xu8zz8r/DFwnonB1nH

    Solomon 1943 V2 Open beta download: http://www.sim-outhouse.net/download...on-1943-V2.zip
    Solomon 1943 V2 update 2013-02-05 download: http://www.sim-outhouse.net/download...2013-02-05.zip


    Current Project: DHC-4 / C-7a Caribou by Tailored Radials
    Dev-Gallery at https://www.dropbox.com/sh/qjdtcoxeg...bAG-2V4Ja?dl=0

  25. #25

    PTA

    DAGR pointed us to a interesting tool that incorporates some tweaks and tunings, including shader mods:

    http://1coder.ru/PTA/


    I tried it in V 3.3 and it works quite well, as far as I can see.



    Cheers,
    Mark
    My scenery development galleries:
    https://www.dropbox.com/sh/x0skkam7xu8zz8r/DFwnonB1nH

    Solomon 1943 V2 Open beta download: http://www.sim-outhouse.net/download...on-1943-V2.zip
    Solomon 1943 V2 update 2013-02-05 download: http://www.sim-outhouse.net/download...2013-02-05.zip


    Current Project: DHC-4 / C-7a Caribou by Tailored Radials
    Dev-Gallery at https://www.dropbox.com/sh/qjdtcoxeg...bAG-2V4Ja?dl=0

Similar Threads

  1. Kosta Tunes for P3D, working good on this rig
    By Lionheart in forum Prepar3D
    Replies: 2
    Last Post: February 6th, 2013, 16:03
  2. Ju-87G-1 Tweaks.zip
    By sc7500 in forum Warbirds Library
    Replies: 0
    Last Post: December 15th, 2011, 16:51
  3. FS9.cfg Tweaks
    By Dangerousdave26 in forum FS2004 Tweaks and Tips
    Replies: 10
    Last Post: December 11th, 2011, 05:26
  4. Two of my favorite jazz tunes: "First Light", and "Mister Magic"
    By Navy Chief in forum Ickie's NewsHawks
    Replies: 0
    Last Post: September 26th, 2010, 14:35

Members who have read this thread: 212

Bookmarks

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •