Hope I haven't asked this before. Easiest helicopter to learn on?

Thread: Hope I haven't asked this before. Easiest helicopter to learn on?

Hope I haven't asked this before. Easiest helicopter to learn on?

I used to have CH pedals, and even with them, I never really mastered helicopters in FSX. Oh, why lie, I never even came close.

And now I no longer have pedals, just an X-52, with the "twist" rudder function.

Still, even though I really don't think of helicopters as airworthy, I can see that they might come in handy when checking out scenery such as PNW and it's enhanced airports.

So, any recommendations, or should I forget it until/unless I get some pedals?

Quote Originally Posted by tracyq144 View Post
    Still, even though I really don't think of helicopters as airworthy,...
    To be blunt, I think that statement says a lot.
    I don't think you're ready or willing to learn how to fly a helicopter in FSX.

As a FSX Rotorcraft pilot, I would recommend you use Piglet's MAI-890 ultralight or the Piper Cub for viewing scenery.
    Very good fixed wings for low and slow.

Now if you really want to learn how to fly an FSX helo, the default Bell 206 works just fine.
    Head on over to Hovercontrol.com .
    HC has their Training Center. which is a good source of information.
    Also there are plenty of folks, including quite a few real world helicopter pilots, that are more than happy to teach you how to operate a helicopter in flightsim.

And some folks don't use pedals, they use the twisty stick as well.
    "No, I'm not a good shot, but I shoot often." - Theodore "Teddy" Roosevelt

The only helicopter I'll ever recommend is the Dodosim 206 (and maybe their huey if/when it comes out). If you really want to learn, it is the best you can do. Slowly move the realism knob from 1 to 5 as you get better.

Just my two cents. I'm sure just about everyone will disagree with me... but hey, that's what I'm here for!

Quote Originally Posted by Dain Arns View Post