Question for AI experts

Thread: Question for AI experts

Question for AI experts

I'm just getting into AI (after all these years of Flight Siming) and I can program them, they appear to takeoff and fly well but the one thing I have noticed is how they land - it's more of an "arrival" than a landing!!! In fact, they tend to slow down too much (unrealistic to my liking) and at about 50 feet above the ground they tend to take a nose dive!!!!!!!!!!!

So my question is: Is there someway in Flight Sim (or some other software program) to adjust the approach speed / landing speed and "flair" point of a landing AI aircraft?

Other than that, they back out / start up / taxi out / fly and taxi in ok - just the landings are terrible..

I appreciate any and all comments and thank you in advance..

Bill

Very curious!

Does this happen with all planes?

Does it happen at all airports?

Is it a dedicated AI only, or is it a flyable plane your using as AI?

Mick and JD:

Good questions!!! As we speak I'm doing a comparison..

There appears to be a difference when I use an "add on" airplane versus an FS stock airplane. Right now I'm flying the Baron and it appears to land ok (altho I wish my "final" speed was a little higher!!!)

The other airplane I was using was one of Mr. Shupe's Commanders (560) and that was really noticeable!!!

However they both flair higher than I would like!!! It seems they all like to flair about 50 feet in the air!!! lol Being a "real world" pilot - I'm not used to that!!!

I've only used 2 airports in my testing - a "homemade" one that I made and KPNS (Pensacola) which again is stock.. Results are the same at both..

If I'm reading this right, I would say that unless the airplane is specifically designed for AI, I'm going to have issue's...

One thing I forgot to mention earlier in things I would like to change, is the taxi speed - they all seem to want to taxi fast!!!

Anyways, thanks for your responses - I appreciate it.

Bill