Need a new system - I am baffled...

Thread: Need a new system - I am baffled...

Need a new system - I am baffled...

I apologize if this is in the wrong forum, but it's directly related to buying something for use with MSFS (or FS2020 if you prefer).

I've been looking for a new system with a 3080 card for MSFS. As you might already know, finding a 3080 card is like finding a Unicorn. As such, I am now thinking about getting something with a "lesser" card and then upgrading later on.
    Any thoughts on what to do? I'd like to keep the total system cost to no more than $2,500 - maybe $3,000 max. I'd LOVE to have something that could run MSFS in 2K or even 4K with at least the 30fps range, and certainly something that supports VR. I really don't want to play the game of constantly having to upgrade my system, as I've done that too often in the past.
    I am NOT an expert in modern systems at all, and have been scouring YouTube videos trying to come up with answers. For reference, I had been running FSX for many years on a completely antiquated Windows 7 Dell Dimension XPS 8930 with an overclocked quad core Q6600 and a GeForce GTX 460 card (yes - it's that old). I'm having boot issues with it, and fear it might be on it's last legs.

What would your "realistic" dream system include?
    PLEASE - I need advice.
    Cheers,
    Dave

I recently got a 3070 card and it's doing a great job with most settings high / ultra and texture lod at 150 and 1440 monitor (i7 8700k with 32gb ram too). I got this as it was a big step up from my 1070ti previously yet great value. Going to a 3080 would of meant a new PSU for me so this was a step that I have no regrets over, especially when it competes with the 2080ti for half the price.