Seaplanes-Catapults-Battleships and Cruisers
Page 1 of 3 123 LastLast

Thread: Seaplanes-Catapults-Battleships and Cruisers

Seaplanes-Catapults-Battleships and Cruisers

I'm finally ready to start this thread now that I think that I can explain what I have been working on for a few months now which started in April of 2017 with a desire to have a platform for one of my favorite aircraft: Curtiss SOC/SON Seagull. Paul Clawson designed this actually for FS2002, it was updated for FS2004 and then for FSX. Paul's README allows all the work that has been done because it is all freeware, with a lot of it actually brand new designed and will only be shared here with the permission of the other designers work that we have been generously given permission to use. The ships I have added platforms onto are from Klnowak's downloads from the USS Langley and his US Cruisers both available here in the Warbirds Library. I want to thank Arno for his fantastic MDCx program which made adding "hard decks" to the catapults possible. Very time-consuming but possible LOL!. Then to MOTUS and his Carrier Convoy Planner software which makes it possible to put the seaplane on the catapult at sea and finally Rob Barendregt for his RCBCO-20 (he now has a -30) which I use to launch off the catapults. (Don't ask me why my FSX doesn't like RCBCO-30 but after hours of his patient efforts with me, I use 20 it works for me. In 2017 I created the first US cruiser, USS Portland as an "airport" as did Mr Clawson with the USS Idaho he provided with his Seagull download. Before CCP it wasn't possible to put a seaplane onto a catapult or the deck of an AI ship. Here are some screenshots of the result I took this afternoon. The Seagull textures are all authentic. I use Steve Ginter's SOC Seagull book and Profile Publications 194 as well as United States Naval Aviation 1919-1941 and the Official Monogram U.S. Navy Marine Corps Aircraft Color Guide. The aircraft serial numbers are also accurate when I can fi