New to DCS

Thread: New to DCS

New to DCS

Good afternoon,

I'm completely new to DCS, just installed it yesterday afternoon.

I would be most grateful for pointers to freeware addons that can be installed into this sim.

Also, pointers to good settings for a fairly modest system would be highly appreciated. My system specs:

i7 6700K @ 4.2 Ghz
    GTX1070
    16 Gb of DDR4 RAM
    DCS installed on a 512 Gb Samsung EVO 850

Thanks in advance!

Priller

In the meantime, I've found a freeware A-4E, downloaded and installed Flaming cliffs and the Nevada map.

Did a few easy free flights, but this is flight simulator on another level than FSX and P3D! This is going to take some reading!

Priller

HI Priller,

There was a nice MB-339 released just a while back.

http://www.freccetricolorivirtuali.net/

Also, the included SU-25 and TF-51 are excellent aircraft. I would suggest going through the training missions for any aircraft you have installed, and if there are missions and campaigns, then these are also excellent ways to figure things out "on the fly", or at least they force you to figure things out. You will need to set up control commands for each aircraft separately. I usually do this while I am learning. As I am going through training or free missions and I see I should be assigning commands to joystick or throttle, then I will just press "esc" key and go in to the controls menu and change that setting there and then. I also try and base my joystick and throttle HOTAS assignments to replicate the real aircrafts layout as close as possible ( I use a HOTAS Warthog).

Also check out the DCS World forums, there is some excellent information and downloads to be found there.