Pitot-Static System

Thread: Pitot-Static System

Pitot-Static System

(Long Post - Apologies in advance) (Posted to FSDeveloper as well) I'm a new C++ gauge programmer and am stumped ( which bothers me since I have 19 years in software development, I've programmed in C/C++/Java/D/VB/Smalltalk...written and generated XML...er, back to the subject at hand). As the title says this question relates to a complete pitot static system for an aircraft cockpit project. To get the airspeed indicator connected to the pitot static system to work I need to get the static pressure and the pitot pressure to calculate dynamic pressure, which would give me the position of the airspeed indication (which I assumed would be CAS/IAS).

I found the static system variable its A: AMBIENT PRESSURE for the static pressure, but I can't find a "pitot pressure" Avar, I also tried looking for a ram air pressure variable, and other combinations, I have searched all the forums. Then I find that there is an A: DYNAMIC PRESSURE! Since I had assumed I had to calculate:

AMBIENT PRESSURE ( = static pressure in Millibars)

X

PITOT PRESSURE (Nonexistent in A:Vars as far as I can tell)

= DYNAMIC PRESSURE (Dynamic pressure in Pounds per square foot)

Then apparently I need to do something with the dynamic pressure to covert it into numbers for positioning the needles and drums on the instrument to display the air speed, I figured that's what a pitot static system was for (I'm not a pilot, but a back seater). I can read the A variables all day long, but what I can't seem to figure out is what variables and formula to take those do the calculations and output a airspeed to the various L:Vars for the needles and drums on the instrument itself.