PDA

View Full Version : FSX SE and Boxed version in multiplayer direct connect



manfredc3
August 21st, 2015, 23:31
Okay, I did a search online, and the only things I found is an old post stating the FSX-SE will not work with a direct connect multiplayer session from FSX boxes. and one on the Steam site stating that with one of their patches "compatibility issues" were resolved.

In short, what I need to know is the following.

Is it possible to direct connect FSX SE to a FSX hosted multiplayer session, and vice-versa?

One of my friends want's to get FSX SE to join multiplayer sessions that I host using direct connect with another flight simmer.

Any information is highly appreciated.

Happy flying,

Manfred

Tako_Kichi
August 22nd, 2015, 08:36
I've not tried a direct connection but FSX-SE has no problems connecting to a FS Host MP server. I regularly connect to the SOH MP servers (we currently have five of them running) with my FSX-SE build.

The SOH MP servers are there to be used by the membership so you could give those a try if you have difficulties with a direct connection. FS Host will accept connections from FS2004, FSX (SP1, SP2 and Accel), FSX-SE and P3D. For FSX (any version) and P3D you will need to download and install the FS Host Client and use that to make the connection, FS2004 can connect directly.

More information on FS Host can be found here: http://www.chocolatesoftware.com/fshost/

Info on how to connect to the SOH MP servers can be found here: http://www.sim-outhouse.net/forum/showthread.php?t=8

We currently have MP servers on ports 23456/7/8/9 and 23460 and each has a separate hop-list installed if you wish to do those or you can just free-fly wherever you like.

There is also a Teamspeak 3 voice server available for comms, details can be found here: http://www.sim-outhouse.net/forum/showthread.php?t=40

manfredc3
August 22nd, 2015, 16:26
Thanks for the feedback Larry,

I used to use FSCoPilot for multiplayer sessions, but the server we used has recently been taken down. That's why I have started doing the direct connect. I will certainly have a look into FS Host.

hecrowell
April 5th, 2017, 06:44
I am also looking for an answer to this question.
so that we are all on the same page, here is the scenario: my sim is FSX Boxed with Acceleration added
I regularly host a multiplayer session on my FS pc.
all other fs pilots join via direct connect to my session by using my IP Address

can FSXSE join my session this way? Seems to me, the last try failed due to "no session found" or "unable to connect"

are there any formation teams out there with a mix of FSXBOXED and FSXSE aircraft? If so, it is imperative that I find out how it is being done.

manfredc3
April 5th, 2017, 22:48
Hello hecrowell,

Direct connect between the two FSX versions is not possible.

BUT... there is a solution called JOINFS. It is a small program and works great for connecting FSX-SE, FSX Boxed and P3D.

You can find it here: http://pmem.uk/joinfs/

I have been using it as I host a session on my pc and have others join through that program.

I hope that helps.