PDA

View Full Version : is this a simconnect problem



donnybalonny
June 27th, 2015, 05:07
Hi
is this a simconnect problem or is it simply an AC that is to old and non compatible.
The AC is the Aero Commander 520v3 by Milton Shupe and made fsx compatible.
I have installed the 3 simconnect.dll from this steam.x.x.x.x legacy folder.
The instruments in the VC works the way they should.

http://i1381.photobucket.com/albums/ah224/donnybalonny/ac1_zpskls03hw9.jpg

http://i1381.photobucket.com/albums/ah224/donnybalonny/ac2_zpsdoywqkrw.jpg

Milton Shupe
June 27th, 2015, 05:44
Some of that looks like an 8-bit texture problem. Look at the curtains.bmp to see if it is 8-bit. If so, convert it to 32 bit and see if that corrects it.

If so, then I can provide you with replacement textures.

EDIT: Attached Textures replacements for all 8-bit originals. Unzip and copy to each of the texture folders.

EDIT 2: Let me know if you have any other issues. If this corrects the problem, I will update the archive.

EDIT 3: Also curious if you are having panel or VC panel issues as some of those textures are also 8-bit.
EDIT 4: I upgraded the attachment to include the updated panel textures for the panel folder.

Milton Shupe
June 27th, 2015, 06:47
If working correctly, this is what it should look like.

donnybalonny
June 27th, 2015, 09:48
Hi Milton
I installed your fix and now everything works the way it should.

I want to thank you for your very fast answer and extremely good "service" on this old bird. I know it very well from FS2004 where I used it intensively untill not long ago. It has always been a favorite of mine. I even installed it into P3Dv2.4. There there was no clickspots and gauges had to be added by editting the panel.cfg.
So i was surprised that the AC had texture problems in FSX steam.
And finally, it still flies very well. It has a very sweet FDE. A bit difficult in crosswind landings because giving rudder is not enough. It has to be landed with asymetrical throttle. At least on my PC with me as a pilot. :encouragement:

Milton Shupe
June 27th, 2015, 10:03
Thank you Donny; happy to be of service. Yes, this too is one of my all-time favorites. I am happy that you are still able to enjoy it.

manfredc3
June 28th, 2015, 18:52
Just read this post and went to Milton's website to download the ac.

Regretfully update file four no longer exists. Not sure if it's required to make it work in FSX?

Milton Shupe
June 28th, 2015, 19:11
Just read this post and went to Milton's website to download the ac.

Regretfully update file four no longer exists. Not sure if it's required to make it work in FSX?

The AC520FSX Port over is right here at SOH:

http://www.sim-outhouse.com/sohforums/showthread.php?70692-AC520-FSX-Port-Over-zip

Dwonload this file and then apply the update posted above.

manfredc3
June 29th, 2015, 23:06
Thanks Milton,