PDA

View Full Version : Need Advice (from Armed Forces guys)

djscoo
January 25th, 2009, 18:49
Hey all! I'm 17 years old, and just trying to figure out my purpose in life. I'll be graduating from high school this June, and plan on going to the local college for my first year. After that...I'd like to transfer to Texas A&M and join the "Corps of Cadets" (ROTC program). Anyways, the reason for this post is I'm just curious about how you guys who were in the Service went about joining up (enlisted or ROTC) and any particulars on branches/specific jobs y'all held. I'm hoping some specific examples of paths can help me figure out for sure what I want to do...Thanks in advance!
:wavey:

waco
January 25th, 2009, 19:02
Back when I was your age, there was a draft and all able bodied young single men ended up in the military for a couple of years. I wasn't interested in college when I graduated from high school so I enlisted in the Air Force. I had no skills and no future at home so I ended up staying in for 20 years and retired as a Master Sargent. In the ensueing years I traveled all over the US and across both oceans to Europe and Asia. I also spent some time in the far north. I worked some long hard hours, visited some spectacular places, and have some great memories. Plus a good pension and health care. Would I do it again? Maybe.

TARPSBird
January 25th, 2009, 19:28