PDA

View Full Version : Virtavia A-4 Skyhawk Question / Problem.

ejoiner
October 23rd, 2014, 10:47
I've been flying the Virtavia A-4 for 3 months now and have been tolerating a problem simply because I like hand flying this little bird so much. When I press Shift + 4, I should get an autopilot panel (apparently). Instead I get this big black box. Thats either a missing bitmap or some other panel.cfg issue. Is this a known issue? Obviously the plane installed OK, because I have been flying it daily.

fsafranek
October 23rd, 2014, 11:25
I've been flying the Virtavia A-4 for 3 months now and have been tolerating a problem simply because I like hand flying this little bird so much. When I press Shift + 4, I should get an autopilot panel (apparently). Instead I get this big black box. Thats either a missing bitmap or some other panel.cfg issue. Is this a known issue? Obviously the plane installed OK, because I have been flying it daily.

I'm not sure why that view option was left in. I recall discussion during development that it was felt that the Automatic Flight Control System (AFCS) panel on the left console covered everything (pages 32-33 of the manual) and we didn't need a popup. Easy fix is to comment out the "Window03" line in the panel.cfg file in the "Virtavia A-4 Skyhawk 0-1 Clean/panel" folder as shown below.

[Window Titles]
Window00=Main Panel
Window01=Radio Stack
Window02=GPS
// Window03=Autopilot

Hope this helps.
:ernaehrung004:

WarHorse47
October 23rd, 2014, 12:00
It's been awhile since I flew mine, but I took a different approach.

I found an AP from another Virtavia product (Virtavia B-45, I believe), extracted the appropriate files (all beginning with AP) from the cab folder, and placed them in a subfolder under the Skyhawk panel. I named the folder Virtavia_AP. Then it was a matter insuring the proper scripting in the panel.cfg.

Works like a charm.

expat
October 23rd, 2014, 12:44
. . did the same. Plus the RFN TACAN. And the ARS4 radar . .