PDA

View Full Version : Graphics card advice

nemokin
April 30th, 2014, 15:59
Hi, I am new to this forum and DX10 on FSX.

Over the last week, I studied Paul's how-to along with various web sites and YouTube to switch from DX9 to DX10.
All in all, I seemed to have successfully set up DX10 having made a few flights on NGX both day and night.

While initially happy, frame rate drops into low teens closer to the ground and around heavy airports. This is despite my AA setting at low at 2x and other various setting are relatively low (sliders within FSX is closer to max on most key items). Buffer pool is 1.

To improve this, I am thinking to renew my graphics card and would like your recommendations.

My current setup:
i7-2700K OC 4.5GHz
GeForce 560Ti 2GB
Normally I fly PMDG around add-on airports using ASN and REX4Texture.
I have FTX global and vector installed with Aerosoft's night environments.

I'm willing to spend $300-ish but not $500-ish.

Any thoughts?

Adamski_NZ
April 30th, 2014, 20:28
Hi and welcome!

I've no idea on local prices, but if I were to upgrade my GFX card, I'd go for one that supports 3 [true] monitor outputs - just in case you want to have a 3-monitor "wraparound" setup at some later date. Your CPU seems good for a while.

Adam.

TheFamilyMan
April 30th, 2014, 21:16
If you shop around, a gtx 770 can be had for a little more than $300. Considering that its GPU core was once badged a gtx 680 ($500 card) not too long ago and as a 770 its clock and RAM speeds have been boosted, it'll be a really nice upgrade for a 560 ti. But be warned: low FPS around complex scenery areas is far more a CPU issue than a GPU issue.

nemokin
May 1st, 2014, 01:56
Thank you both for your advice.

I just went to my local PC shop and bought a 2GB GTX770 with overclock.

Will try to replace my card today.
A little nervous since I have never switched a graphics card before.
I hope I'll do things right.

TheFamilyMan
May 1st, 2014, 10:08