PDA

View Full Version : Contemplating a Switch to NVIDIA

Scratch
September 10th, 2013, 15:15
I have using ATI/AMD cards since I began building my own rigs many years ago. Since ATI became AMD I have not been totally satisfied with their video cards. Performance wise they have been red hot with frame rates, but I see many users here that post screenshots that look far better than what I see in my in game experience. In particular is the way my card renders fog around mountains and such. I am sick and tired of seeing a distinct 'ring' or border between atmospheric levels. Am I off base here or is there a really good reason I should make a switch for my flight sims? I have zero experience with NVIDIA products and have always been more comfortable with ATI cards, but I get the nagging feeling that there is something better out there.
What do y'all think?

stiz
September 10th, 2013, 15:45
i think unless your an overclocker/pc tinker/anal about exact performance %s, theres pretty much very little between the brands. Looks in fsx are about WHAT you set your graphics to, what textures you use, weather, time of day etc etc etc :)

heywooood
September 10th, 2013, 16:05
i think unless your an overclocker/pc tinker/anal about exact performance %s, theres pretty much very little between the brands. Looks in fsx are about WHAT you set your graphics to, what textures you use, weather, time of day etc etc etc :)

I have used both and for me - nvidia makes the better card by far
easier to dial in, better results, never had a card failure...

ATI - pain to dial in, meh graphics by comparison and I have had two of them fail (fan burnout on one and an undetermined fault on the other) and I do not overclock anything.

jmig
September 10th, 2013, 18:08