PDA

View Full Version : Drivable boat question

MCDesigns
August 5th, 2013, 20:06
First off, IT FLOATS!! (to coin a term from another thread, LOL) After I got to this point I got nothing done as I went all over the place in this thing, LOL. this will be a scenery object for my scenery also as well as an animated object circling the bay or ships, that part is easy.

I want to add more to it as a drivable boat. Right now I am using the folder for the Deltasim power boat winch is payware, but works near perfectly. I have no knowledge of how to set it up (CFGs, sounds, viewpoints, effects, wakes) otherwise to share, so asking for any insight into this from any of the ship gurus.

Also, would love to have a search light of some kind, do the shockwave lights light up objects also? Are they hard to position?

http://imageshack.us/a/img801/6239/b94b.jpg
http://imageshack.us/a/img407/16/krkl.jpg

orionll
August 5th, 2013, 20:11
If you don't intend on using it in multiplayer, you can set it up as a proper boat SimObject. Just take a look at any of the models in SimObjects\Boats and you'll get an idea.

To make them drivable, you can follow a tutorial here: http://www.strikingsoftware.com/forum/index.php?topic=1167.0. Essentially, you need to add a panel and add Boat to the FSX.CFG UserObjects key under [Main].

Francois
August 5th, 2013, 22:40
FUN !!!

Delta_Whiskey
August 6th, 2013, 22:01
you could grab the airfile and cfg from my Donzi 28 at simV . goes about 70ish
it's freeware. feel free to try out the dynamics files on yours and if you like - feel free to publish your stuff with them .

i use an f4u corsair soundfile , nice and throaty
the CG is the tweak for bow rise and stickyness on the water coupled with the contact point vars
contact points for the engine wakes and bow wakes, damping and strut compression are the tricky parts there
effects file for hull wake ( tried to make a rooster tail effects once based off the whale spout effect, never finished it )