PDA

View Full Version : I wish to announce my retirement

AussieMan
August 5th, 2013, 16:34
As no apology appears to be forthcoming following the insult to repainters yesterday by fsxar177 (http://www.sim-outhouse.com/sohforums/member.php?103831-fsxar177) I wish to announce that I am no longer going to repaint aircraft for the flight sim community.

While I am basically a novice repainter I got great pleasure seeing screenshots of my repaints flying about in the FS skies. To do a repaint is not just a simple matter of splashing a coat of paint on a model. There is the time involved researching a particular colour scheme and sometimes creating a paint kit from scratch. Some paint kits are produced with one or two layers only and therefore there is the added time creating new layers. One repaint I have been working on for nine months trying to get it right and at the moment I am getting it ready to put in a zip file and send it to the developer for him to look at and see if he can help me.

I am not putting my paint brushes away completely as I will doing paints for myself. There are a couple of developers who, if they think my work is good enough I will work with them but other than that I am finished.

stovall
August 5th, 2013, 17:10
Sorry to hear that AussieMan, I for one have enjoyed your creations and will miss your input. Thanks for all you have done for the community. For sure some developer will pick up your talents and we may enjoy them again in the way.

Rudyjo
August 5th, 2013, 17:15
AussieMan;

To you and everyone who release free repaints: Thank you.
Sure, some are better than others, but every one of them is 100% better than I could do. I wouldn't even know where to start.

SteveB
August 5th, 2013, 17:31
Can't fault you mate, sorry your leaving but understand your reasons fully. Paint for yourself and your mates and have a cold one for me. If you ever need any help on anything feel free to drop me an email.

Steve

skyhawka4m
August 5th, 2013, 17:36