PDA

View Full Version : fsx weather realism overhaul?

blazefox2
February 10th, 2013, 10:40
after going up for my first flight yesterday in a C152, i recreated the flight on fsx. I must say it was quite dissapointing how little fsx replecates the movement of aircraft, and airflow/turbulence.

Is there an addon (payware/freeware) that overhauls the outside flying conditions, updrafts, downdrafts, turbulent patches better weather movements etc?

is rex what im looking for? or does that just change the textures?

Tako_Kichi
February 10th, 2013, 10:56
Accu-Feel V2 from A2A will allow you to do the things you mention along with a lot of other things too.

REX will enhance the weather visuals.

jetstreamsky
February 10th, 2013, 11:02
Active Sky 2012 http://www.hifitechinc.com/products/active-sky-2012

I've been using Active sky for many years now, with a brief excursion to REX, but I'm back to Active Sky which now has its own high quality textures as well as the superb weather engine.

It includes settings for aircraft turbulence effects and thermals, but for ridge soaring CumulusX is the best way to go working with AS2012.

NB: I've had to switch off the turbulence effect in Accu-Feel 2 as some models react very badly to it.

Naismith
February 10th, 2013, 14:00
I wonder do you have FSUIPC installed? There are settings within it to add enhancements of this nature.

Kiwikat
February 10th, 2013, 14:13
Accufeel + Opus FSX Weather has completely changed my opinion of FSX weather. It is astonishing how realistic the visuals are with Opus driving the clouds. It is much better than Active Sky, which I had been using for years. I'd highly recommend you give it a try. It is sold via the Flight1 wrapper so if you don't like it you can get your money back.

PRB
February 10th, 2013, 14:21