PDA

View Full Version : 'Da Nang Airbase: 1968'

Panther_99FS
August 4th, 2012, 14:42
Nice set of personal photos here...:medals:
http://www.flickr.com/photos/rustyleonard/sets/72157608250179753/

David_L6
August 4th, 2012, 15:30
Some GREAT photos in there! Thank you for posting that link.

Jagdflieger
August 4th, 2012, 17:19
Fun to see the old air base after all these years. The Hi Van Pass, north of Da Nang, as usual, is cloud covered in these shots. The shot of the Sandys brings back memories of a mission to rescue a downed Cobra crew. The Sandys from Da Nang flew support on that one. We also got the Phantoms out of there from time to time for CAS too. In fact, the F-4 part of the base was often called Gunfighter Village after the "Gunfighters" stationed there.

I was never assigned there; as a soldier, I spent most of my time north of there with the 101st Airborne, but I flew out of there a couple of times. The best flight out was for my week of R&R.

GypsyBaron
August 4th, 2012, 20:25
I was there a year earlier (1967) with OASU/VX-8 as a air crewman on
our C-121J Super Connie 'radio plane'.

We flew north every night over the South China Sea to broadcast tapes,
supplied to us by the South Vietnamese, to the North Vietnamese as
soon as their radio station went off the air.

I recall there was the tail of a B-52 off the end of one of the runways
that had over-run the runway and went into a mine field. Nasty sight that
was. Going aroun the other end of the runway you passed the morgue
with all those aluminum coffins stacked outside.

Da Nang was a dismal place compared to Tan Son Nhut where I flew
in '66 in our TV Connies.

Sometime after I left our barracks suffered a direct hit from a rocket.
Luckily only one of our guys was injured.

Paul

dharry
August 5th, 2012, 02:31
Really enjoyed viewing those pictures Panther. Many thanks.

rdaniell
August 5th, 2012, 05:25