PDA

View Full Version : Prepar3D Academic Owners :

T Square
July 21st, 2012, 07:10
I am not a developer and don't have $200.00 in cash to play with so that would put me in the price range of the Prepar3D Academic option. My question is this how is it, as far as adding options, aircraft, scenery etc; as compared to FSX ? When I see the title "Academic" the first thing that comes to mind is, school such as "Man's first experince in flight was basicly falling straight down and uncontrolled, from a great flight." (Being a bit sarcastic). If I saved my lunch money (no beer for a year or so) and pleaded on my bad knee humbling myself before my lovely wife I might come up with $50.00 or so bucks. However before I sink to this degrading level I want to know, is it worth it. Will it make me want to chuck FS9 and get out my FSX stuff again ? Is it what FSX should have been, or could have been ?

Flyingsub
July 21st, 2012, 08:02
I am not a developer and don't have $200.00 in cash to play with so that would put me in the price range of the Prepar3D Academic option. My question is this how is it, as far as adding options, aircraft, scenery etc; as compared to FSX ? When I see the title "Academic" the first thing that comes to mind is, school such as "Man's first experince in flight was basicly falling straight down and uncontrolled, from a great flight." (Being a bit sarcastic). If I saved my lunch money (no beer for a year or so) and pleaded on my bad knee humbling myself before my lovely wife I might come up with $50.00 or so bucks. However before I sink to this degrading level I want to know, is it worth it. Will it make me want to chuck FS9 and get out my FSX stuff again ? Is it what FSX should have been, or could have been ?

Go for it,

I haven't even looked at FSX since I installed the academic version. P3D is basically FSX which has been tweaked and tuned and therefore runs better.