PDA

View Full Version : Anyone good with codeing? DC-2 Uiver smokesystem positioning

Flame-Prop
July 9th, 2012, 23:45
Found a great smokesystem for the deafult DC3 and it's positioned in a pretty accruate spot two.This can be found here

http://simviation.com/1/browse-Props-62-51

Next, I though Ok so I have the files all ready, they work great with the DC-3 so let's give Uiver Team's DC-2 some smokein' two. Bad news is I'm no expert on codeing......To understand more, here is what the smoke system codeing for the DC-3 looks like and it uses fx_smoke_f6 which came with the smoke effect download from simaviation.

DC-3

[SMOKESYSTEM]
smoke.0=-20.232, -10.906, -4.601, fx_smoke_f6
smoke.1=-20.232, 10.906, -4.601, fx_smoke_f6

Now the big question, what code will we need to add to DC-2 to ensure the smoke is in the right position? When I added thoes numbers it was too far back..... and we need to put the smoke as close as we can to the exhaust pipe.This is where who ever knows about these numbers comes in handy....:icon_lol:

Gabe

Dave Torkington
July 10th, 2012, 02:51
Hi Gabe,

It's more trial and error than coding, but here's the 'science' behind the numbers...

In your SmokeSystem line :

smoke.0=-20.232, -10.906, -4.601, fx_smoke_f6

smoke.0 = the line identifier
-20.232 = the distance in feet from the model origin point on the fore/aft axis
-10.906 = the distance in feet from the model origin point on the left/right axis
-4.601 = the distance in feet from the model origin point on the up/down axis
fx_smoke_f6 = the name of the smoke effect used

So, with some alteration of the values, you will eventually get the effect in the desired position.

Work on the smoke.0 line till you're happy with the effect placement, then just copy the parameters to smoke.1 line. Remember to change the middle value to a positive so that it's placed at the other engine position.