PDA

View Full Version : Coolsky/McPhat Studios DC9-30 development pictures

spins_vmfa321
June 20th, 2012, 16:43
Hello all,
Wow, this is my first time, EVER, posting on Sim-Outhouse, after having browsed the forums for so many years!

My name is Jamal and I'm the lead 3D dev for McPhat Studios. I wanted to take the opportunity to post some progress shots of an aircraft we have been working on for a long time for Coolsky, the DC9-30. This project has been going on for I believe close to 3 years. I joined during the second year of development to work specifically on the virtual cockpit. It has been a very... VERY challenging experience, as all of the devs on this forum can attest!
I'm not much of a screenshot artist, so apologies for the lack of polish. But here are some WIP pics:

67837 67838 67839 67844
67840 67841 67842 67843

We've got an amazing group of texture artists who have been producing some incredible artwork for this project. As a 3D artist who can't paint, it's been awesome seeing something I've made really come alive when really good painters are involved.

The cockpit is fully (99%) functional. Almost every single switch, knob, and button in the VC is animated and has a function, including every single circuit breaker. And the very few knobs that don't, primarily for the oxygen system (the masks are not simulated), I don't think will really be missed.

If anyone has any questions, please let me know! And feel free to check out my horrible flickr page for more shots of the model here: http://www.flickr.com/photos/27277424@N04/

Thanks much and let me know what you all think!
Jamal

P38man
June 20th, 2012, 17:56
Freakin' AMAZING !!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!

http://www.mcphatstudios.net/images/stories/multimedia/dc9classic/flight1-coolsky-mcphat-dc-9-repaint-fsx-9.jpg

bushpilot
June 20th, 2012, 22:07